Need advice - ibook 14" or 12"

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by iApollo, Aug 5, 2005.

1. iApollo macrumors newbie

Apr 29, 2005
    Hi everyone. I am finally going to upgrade from my old red iMac and I know I want to go with an ibook, but I am confused by the screen differences. I heard that the resolution is the same on both models, and if thats the case does that mean that there isn't really any more room on the 14"? If so it seems pointless. It's a frustrating choice because I want a super drive, but I don't want to carry around something large if I am not gaining any more actual space on the screen.
    I'm a student at a fashion design school and will be using this for homework, photos and a few design programs, but nothing really intense.
    If anyone has any advice or opinions on the differences between the two models I would appreciate it.
  2. illegal amigo macrumors member

Jul 25, 2005
  3. skubish macrumors 68030

Feb 2, 2005
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Yes the resolution on both is the same. So unless you have bad eyesight go with the 12". You can buy an extra DVD burner which is better than a superdrive.
  4. dmw007 macrumors G4

May 26, 2005
    Working for MI-6
    Go with the 12" iBook and enjoy the extra portability that it will give you.

If you really need more screen real-estate then go and buy an external LCD to hook your iBook up to.
  5. chucknorris macrumors 6502a

Jun 28, 2005
    Moscow, ID (No Kremlin here!)
    I couldn't agree more!
  6. Zman5225 macrumors 6502a

May 15, 2005
    Tacoma WA
    I got the 12" for the portability. I plan on getting an external dvd burner that will sit on my desk, it's not a feature that I needed to be portable anyways. That being said, I really enjoy my new iBook, it's a fantastic machine.

7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Apr 3, 2004
    Adelaide, Australia
    Another vote for the 12 inch. Unless you really need an internal Superdrive...