Need Advice on 1st & eventually 2 Mac purchases pls.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Supa_Fly, Apr 27, 2005.

1. Supa_Fly macrumors 68030

May 30, 2002
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    OK I've been saying Im gonna buy a Mac for the past 2 years. Between daily travelling between my last job & 5 family birthdays, I finally within reach of purchasing my first family mac.

Ok I'm currently looking at a Mini - low model with, 512MB RAM, WiFi, Bluetooth, and Superdrive. I dont use more than 40GB of HDD in my current PC (entire family). I'm gonna be faced with purchasing a wireless keyboard & mouse, as my current keyboard is PS2 only. Add-ons will be 250GB External-HDD, and USB Midi-Keyboard.

Here is my question. My 11 yr old daughter will be using this computer with a Wacom tablet for all art picture drawings & colorings. Is there a decent program, thats not too challenging to learn to use thats compatible with the tablet? Also as she advances before year end, will the 32MB of Video RAM be sufficient for creating DVD's & high contrast of pictures that she'll be drawing? I want to encourage her to be a happy & productive artist, but I dont want to have limits in the beginning.

Or would it be better to get an iMac G5?? Will the iMac G5 & Mac Mini be able to be left on for say 3 days without worrying of internal heat & screen damage on the iMac? Also can the iMac G5 turn off its monitor in a sort of sleep mode when left on?

Many thanks to everyone. Also, what is the lowest PowerMac G4 that I should purchase that can support Panther efficiently?
  2. R.Youden macrumors 68020

Apr 1, 2005
    PowerMac G4. I am running a PowerMac G4 and it runs Panther fine, and I can't invisage any problems with Tiger. Any PowerMac more than 1Ghz will do fine.

I would go for the iMac, it has a monitor, keyboard etc that a mac mini does not. I still think the best bargin is for an eMac. Check it out, they are due for updates soon.