Need Answer - New to Mac!

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by vtrbabe, Nov 4, 2005.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #1
    Hi everyone!

    I just purchased a 2nd hand Apple Mac iBook but know absolutely nothing about them. I'm used to desktop pc's. But got if for a good price so thought why not!

    Anyway i would like as much info about it as possible. It is model: A1005. Is this a G3 or G4 etc, It has an airport card, what is this? It has OS X, whats this and finally how do i connect to the internet?

    I know im asking alot of questions but i dont know where or who else to ask. Hope you can help me :)

    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #2
    thats the battery i think ,

    if you click on the apple logo top left and then about this mac - it will tell you every thing you need to know ie G3/G4 how fast and ram and more in more info
     
  3. macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
  4. macrumors 68000

    russed

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    airport is just the wireless networking card.

    to connect to the internet, have you got wireless internet or are you on dial up, or are you on broadband?

    depending upon that, either plug yourself into the wall via the moden if you are still on dial up, and then under applications look for "internet connect"

    if you have broadband with say just a modem - plug yourself into it! some of the usb ones dont work with mac i think so you may have to go out and find another one, alternativly, it its a network cable one (sorry dont know the name of it!) just plug it in and that will work!

    if you have got wireless, look for a symbol in the bar at the top that is like 4 lines getting bigger and are slightly curved - click on it to turn airport on (if its not on) if it is you should be able to select the appropriate network!


    you will not regret your purchace! things may feel a bit abnormal at first but you will soon get used to it! and if you need anything, we are here to help!
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #5
    Thanks

    Thanks for all your help everyone...and sooo fast with it too! This forum is GREAT!

    Thanks again, Andrea (vtrbabe)
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    MacSA

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    UK
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #7
    Airport

    I think i have wireless, ive got the symbol in the bar at the top that is like 4 lines getting bigger and are slightly curved, and it is turned ON.

    When i click it the drop down menu is as follows:
    TURN AIRPORT OFF
    OTHER...
    CREATE NETWORK...
    OPEN INTERNET CONNECT...

    So what do i do now to get connected to the internet?

    I have broadband internet running on my desktop PC at the moment. But would like to be able to connect using the airport thingy so my boyfriend can continue to use the internet on the PC while i'm using the Mac.
     
  8. macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #8
    You need a wireless router to plug the modem into, then plug the PC into the router so that it can use the net too. You should then be able to see the network when you click on that drop down menu. Select that network and away you go.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #9
    To get all the details on your Mac click on the Apple in the upper left side. Click first item, "About this Mac" In the about this mac window click on the button "More info..."

    All you want to know will be there opps liketom said it first. How did I miss that?
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #10
    So does that mean i need to buy one of those base station things? or is there something else i could buy. As i said its got the airport card thingy but nothing else.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    fayans

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    MacRumors: Forums
    #11
    Yes, go get an airport express. That way you could share your BF internet connection and printer wirelessly. ;)
     
  12. macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #12
    but any wifi router will do as well Belkin or yuk D-link
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    fayans

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    MacRumors: Forums
    #13
    No objection to that! ;)
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #14
    Awwww thanks alot everyone for all your help. I've been really stuck!
    Your the BEST!!! :)
     

Share This Page