Need Apple ROM to boot from CD still?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by nmerriam, Dec 7, 2003.

  1. nmerriam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    #1
    I'm looking at getting a "cheap" dual G5 in january, and figuring out ways to reduce the cost as much as possible, but I've been away from the Mac world for a few years.

    I already own a Panasonic A06 DVD+-R drive that I have on my windows system. Since eliminating that would save $200 from the G5, I'd like to, but since it can only have one optical drive I need to be able to boot from it for recovery. Apple used to have special ROM in CD drives that were necessary to boot but I don't know if that has changed -- will i be able to drop my existing A06 drive into a G5 and have it work exactly the same as if Apple shipped it to me with a 106?

    Another possibility would be if a G5 can boot from flash media (with a USB2 or Firewire reader) since I have a few old 1Gig Microdrives lying around. I know you can boot from an iPod and would think that a firewire/USB2 drive should "look" the same to the system.

    Thanks!
    Nathaniel
     
  2. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #2
    You can boot from most optical drives, check out the compatibility database at www.xlr8yourmac.com just in case. As for booting off of flash media, it would have to be a Microdrive just to hold OS X, but even then, I doubt it would work.
     
  3. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #3
    sorry to burst your bubble but you cant drop the drive completly, you can only downgrade to a combo drive.

    iJon
     
  4. nmerriam thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    #4
    Unbelievably enough, there is a $200 difference between the combo drive and the Superdrive.

    Considering the A06 drive itself costs less than $200 at RETAIL, Apple is really making a killing/ripping people off (depending on your POV).

    It sounds like there is no longer the special ROM necessary to boot, so I'll save myself a few bucks by downgrading my order -- thanks!
     
  5. phreaker57x macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    Re: Need Apple ROM to boot from CD still?

    I'm sorry for going off topic, but I didn't know you can boot from an iPod. Is there anywhere I can look to find more information about this?

    Thanks
     
  6. nmerriam thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    #6
    Re: Re: Need Apple ROM to boot from CD still?

    Google is your friend :)

    http://www.ipodlounge.com/forums/archive/topic/1238-1.html

    "Just download Carbon Copy Cloner, uncheck everything except the base system files (unless you want them and have space, of course, but I did this on a 5gb) and give it a GOOD long while to do that. It looks stuck at the end, but it just takes a long time.

    Plug in the iPod, restart, holding down option. The screen comes up to select a boot disk. Choose your iPod, and it's over.

    It doesn't affect any of the "iPod" functions....mine still works perfectly."
     
  7. phreaker57x macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    Guess we learn something new everyday. :p

    Thanks for the link.
     
  8. agdickinson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Marston Green, West Midlands, UK
    #8
    Carbon Copy Cloner

    Hi,

    Where can I get Carbon Copy Cloner from?

    Cheers

    Andrew
    :)
     
  9. agdickinson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Marston Green, West Midlands, UK

Share This Page