Need Directions w/Purchase

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by herpasymplex10, Aug 13, 2004.

1. herpasymplex10 macrumors newbie

Need some help our direction.

I'm going to be purchasing a Mac.
    My main reason is I'm an amateur filmmaker and will be using it to edit
    my digital films.
    That is pretty much the sole reason for the purchase.
    I have a monitor so that is not a concern.

I will use it to surf the web a bit - nothing fancy.
    I will use it to burn CD's.

I've got about 2500.00 to play with.

I'd like some tips, advice, etc.
    Please.
    Thanks

2. Manzana macrumors 6502a

Manzana

how about a dual 1.8 G5, extra ram from crucial and Final Cut Express if you don't have an editing program yet. That seems to fit your budget. FCE is 99 after rebate right now. You could also use a 2nd internal SATA drive, and you could buy that from another vendor so it would be less expensive.

3. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw

Agreed, but I'd get a refurb dual 2.0 ($2K on Apple's site now - go to store.apple.com and click on the SAVE tag). Or, better yet because it's cheaper, get a refurb dual 1.8 - the older ones are better in that the supplied hard drive is larger and there's more room for RAM. Note that the 'new' dual-1.8 is not a replacement for the 'old' one - it's a replacement for the 'old' 1.6. The 'old' 1.8 is a really nice machine, very close in performance to the dual-2.0,

4. herpasymplex10 thread starter macrumors newbie

i'm checking this out.
    thanks for the advice
    please keep it coming

5. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw

For example, right now, you can get a dual-1.8, 512MB, 160GB hard drive, and Superdrive, for $1800. Good price. Leaves $700 of a bit more RAM and for software.

The 'new' refurb dual 1.8 is $100 cheaper, but has half the RAM, half the RAM slots (for upgrading), and half the disk space. And a crappier video card, I think.