Need external hard drive that's compatable with imovie.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by shenanigan, Jun 9, 2006.

1. shenanigan macrumors newbie

Hey all, this is my first time on the forum... woot! :)

Here's the deal...

I bought an external hard drive that according to amazon.com was compatable with mac os 9 and up, but when it came and I tried to save an imovie file on it it wouldn't work. It would save other types of files, but not imovie files... which is pointless because that's all I need it for.

I'm looking for an external hard drive that works with imovie, that is around 300 GB and hopefully under $200.

Any suggestions?

2. kretzy macrumors 604

kretzy

Welcome to MR! :)

Did you format the HD for OS X? I'm not 100% sure, but if the HD is still formatted in FAT 32 I think the maximum file size is around 4GB which may explain why your movies won't transfer across. If you reformat it to HSF+ (OS X format) there shouldn't be any problem. Maybe give that a go before buying a new one.

3. Danksi macrumors 68000

Danksi

4. Philberttheduck macrumors 6502a

Philberttheduck

All you gotta do is plug in the harddrive into your mac and open up "Disk Utility". Once there, highlight the harddrive you wish the change. Then go to "Erase" and go to "Mac OS Extended". (apparently journaled is just logging and pretty much unneccesary). Label the harddrive whatever you want. Then click erase.

REMEMBER, THIS WILL PERM. ERASE ALL INFORMATION on the harddrive. But it sounds like a new harddrive so it'll do.

This works if you have OS X. If you had OS 9, i got nothing sorry.

5. shenanigan thread starter macrumors newbie

It worked! I'm so happy, I don't have to buy a new external harddrive or anything. Thank you so much! New best friends! *cyber hug*

Okay, perhaps that was a bit much....:rolleyes:

6. QuantumLo0p macrumors 6502a

QuantumLo0p

Are you planning on burning DVD's?