Need Feedback - Can Logitech C310 HD Webcam use for Facetime?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by edoras, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #1
    I just purchased a Mac Mini but not sure which webcam works best for Facetime or Skype or Photo Booth etc.
    I only managed to read one person (Mark from Amazon review) regarding his experience with C310. However, I am unable to read any other reviews regarding its compatibility with Mac OS X.

    Anyone else have experience using the Mac with this Logitech C310? Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #2
    I don't see why it wouldn't work. I have the C510 and I have no problems using Facetime, Skype or Photobooth. (I use Facetime and Skype regularly but I've only used Photobooth to see if it would work with the webcam).
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #3
    Awesome!
    I think I will get the C510 since its only $10 more than C310 and its 8MP...!
    Thanks!
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #4
    Please come back and let us know how you like it. Thx.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #5
    The weird thing is that it seems the Logitech HD Webcams have not arrived in any of our electronic shops. They said its coming quite soon...
    I will keep this thread updated soon! Cheers!
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    #6
    If you can't get your webcam to work, install manycam. That is what I ended up doing on our mini.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #7
    Finally I purchased C510 and it works perfectly without any installation of drivers.;)
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #8
    Logitech C310 Webcam with Mac

    I received the Logitech C310 Webcam as a gift. I've read mixed things on whether this can even be used with a Mac. I'm having a hard time getting it to work. Has anyone else used this model with the Mac?
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #9
    It should work. What sort of issues are you having and what type of Mac are you trying to use it on?

    http://www.mac-compatible-web-cam.com/
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #10
    I'm trying to use it on a Mac Mini. It doesn't recognize the hardware when I plug in the USB and the installation disk comes up on the desktop, but can't figure out what to do..
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #11
    Well, the install disk that probably came with it if for a PC, so that won't work. And, you will have to open an application like PhotoBooth, Skype or Facetime to select that camera as a video source. When you do, it should work. It won't just show up on the desktop.
     
  12. MTI
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #12
    Anyone using the Creative Labs Live! 1080 HD camera on their Mini for Facetime?
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    Indiana
    #13
    i have the Microsoft Lifecam HD-5000
    works great (except that it won't do HD FaceTime like the macbook pros do)
     

Share This Page