need for speed carbon doesn't work with Leopard?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by borcenty, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #1
    Hey,

    I've upgraded my system to Leopard. After that I've installed nfs carbon but it doesn't work. The game launches, I can hear a lady speaking to me (game intro) + sound effects but screen is black and I can't see anything.

    One of my friends had the same issue. He installed Leopard again (using erase and install rather then upgrade) and it worked for him.

    I don't really want to go for that option - anyone knows a simpler solution?

    I have MBP, ATY RadeonX1600, 2GB RAM so specs are within EA requirements.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    hankolerd

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    I would try re-installing, just back up your save data if you have any that you don't want to lose. If you are able to get into the game with no video it sounds like some file path's or something were messed up when upgrading to leopard, that or maybe there is new vc drivers with leopard that don't like carbon.:apple:

    EDIT: re-install NFSC that is, not leopard.:apple:
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #3
    hi, thanks for a post.

    I've installed nfsc AFTER upgrading to leopard. I didn't have nfsc installed on tiger. Anyway - tried it, but it didn't help.

    anyone has other suggestions? anyone had the same problem?
     
  4. macrumors 601

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #4
    I tried to google for a solution and it brought me back to this post.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #5
    I wouldn't post if I could google it :)
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #6
    Need For Speed Carbon don't work with upgrade Leopard

    Hi I also have problems with my iMac 20 " and then upgrade to Leopard, NFSC only works sound, the screen remains in black for the moment Apple said that no solution because it is a problem for drivers as it runs with port cider, sorry friends NFSC not work with Leopard.

    www.macvisions.net more info
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #7
    Not all Cider ports have problems. Seems that Heroes 5 doesn't have any problems on Leopard. I am sure that a solution will be found sooner or later and we'll be running NFSC in Leopard soon...
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    #8
    Cracking sounds in NfS Carbon

    Cracking sounds during racing in Need for Speed Carbon, when several sounds play at the same time... Engine sound and music are OK, but when I use nitrous or hit a wall, it seems these extra sounds cause a problem... This didn't happen before upgrade to Leopard. Any similar experiences, ideas??
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #9
    carbon problem on leopard

    hey, i've just copied the nfs carbon to the app folder, so far no problems... but when i double click to lauch the app, the icon just bounces once on the dock and then nothing happens...

    i'm running on a macbook pro with leopard.

    help? ó_ò
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #10
    Many months afterwards we still don't have a solution. Seems EA will always be EA..
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #11
    Download this config file, open with text edit, select all and copy.
    Then go to home/library/preferences/Need for Speed Carbon Preferences , open the config file, select all, and paste what you earlier selected. hope this helps.
    http://rapidshare.com/files/86156699/config.zip.html

    Post back if all is fine :)
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #12
    Yes, that config file made it work again under 10.5.2. I narrowed the changes in the config file down to one line:

    change

    "FBOBackbuffer" = "Y"

    into

    "FBOBackbuffer" = "N"

    Thx!
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    #13
    I have already tired this solution without any modification. It totally works!!!Thank you!
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #14
    repair config user/ library/ prefe../ need for speed carbon preferences/config
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    Ya, thats the same fix to get mine working. Also, i need to know if you can do autosculpt and see results? Mine just shows the car as it was before
     

Share This Page