Need G4 (Gigabit Ethernet) Dual 500MHz with 23" Cinema Display

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by lokos1998, Sep 16, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #1
    I'm a PC guy (unfortunately), and I wanted to get my wife (graphic designer) a Mac present for our 3 year wedding anniversary (maybe a bad choice).

    As a cheep axx i looked on eBay for best deals... and happen to stumble
    upon an old G4 (Gigabit Ethernet) Dual 500MHz tower.

    I understand that is a old model, but the budget constrains gave me a no better choice... $300-400. For the first Apple it is a start.
    To make it up i got her a 23" Cinema Display.

    My dilemma as you see is the old vs new technology.
    I have not yet received the merchandise, but as i read I'm up for a surprise.
    1. Do i need a power adapter for the display?
    2. Do i need a ADC converter (or something like it)?
    3. What (cheep) Graphic card will be a plausible fit to avoid conversions?
    4. Will that card work with my motherboard (if there is one inside lol)

    Do you have better recomendations? :confused:

    So far browsing i got:
    Recomendations
    RADEON 9800 Series

    Requirements:
    Power Mac G4 or G5 with NVIDIA graphics card or ATI Radeon 7500 or better graphics card

    Limitations:
    6. The Power Mac G4 Cube computer must have a Nvidia Geforce 2MX graphics card to be compatible with the Apple Cinema Display HD or Apple Cinema Display (20-inch).
    The Power Mac G4 - (Gigabit Ethernet) video card does not support the Apple Cinema Display HD or Apple Cinema Display (20-inch) unless the original video card is updated to one that meets the specification for the display.

    Thanks for your help...
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #2
    sweet deal on the display! about par for the g4. you might want to wait and find out what is in the g4 first, but it's likely an older GeForce 2 32mb or equivalent which is no good for that sweet monitor.



    1. no power adapter required, as it gets power through the ADC cable which is why you need a video card with the ADC port or the crazy expensive adapter.
    2. as above, an adapter only if you go with a video card without the ADC port.
    3. recommendations below.
    4. see # 3.

    the 9800 is out as it does not have the ADC connector on the card (only vga/dvi) and you would need to drop another 75-100 bucks on the adapter.

    i would look at the 9000 64mb card, like This

    or the GeForce 4 64mb card, like This

    advantage of these two cards is that they would plug right in, no taping/flashing/mods required which should make things a bit easier.

    these are not my auctions, i don't know or recommend these sellers, just listing examples. best of luck.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #3
    Thanks

    Thanks for the quick response...

    Funny thing is I already had you on my watch list on the second item. :D

    I think you got your self's a deal :)
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #4
    23" Cinema display and Mac 4 do not get along

    Well the package came in...

    The was a ATI Rage pro 128 Card was installed, with ADC/VGA connector.
    On the first Run using the ADC and the 23" screen...
    - Apple logo in the middle
    - Static all around
    - Spinning wheel, progres bar was turnin
    - Display tuned off after about 3-4 minutes

    Using my 19" PC LCD screed with VGA port, Mac worked fine...
    Loaded into GUI, 10.2 OS X

    Is is a matter now of graphic card driver issue, or minimum requirements
    for the 23" screen? Or possibly a bad screen? Or power supply?
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #5
    I'm afraid it's down to the 23" ACD's requirements. The card you've got will run the 22" model but not the 23".
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #6
    which one of these will run a 23" display, and not cost arm and leg?

    ATI Mac Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB AGP Video 109-A14400-01
    300

    nVidia GeForce 6800 256MB Ultra DDL for mac
    300

    nVidia GeForce 4 Ti4600 128 megs Fast on G4 or G5
    65

    ATI Radeon 9000 64MB (ADC/DVI) AGP Video Card 109-99700
    $47

    nVidia Geforce4 MX 64MB AGP Video Card ADC/VGA G4
    42 Mac Guy

    nVidia Apple NV-11 64MB Video Card 630-3534
    50

    NEW ATI RADEON 7500 32MB AGP ADC VGA MAC EDITION 10476

    50
    nVidia GeForce2 MX 32MB VGA ADC VIDEO CARD

    ATI Rage 128 Pro 16MB (VGA/ADC) (AGP ...
    $20
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #7
    All this money your dropping down you could have a first gen. Core Duo Mac Mini or Core Duo iMac. And you will be able to run 10.5 and 10.6
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #8
    Just a personal preference, and choice to have a bigger screen...
    and in process sacrificing speed. I think i will go with 42" plasma, instead
    of 23" cinema display LOL.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #9
    ATI Rage 128pro on 20'' apple cinema display

    Hi you all!
    Hope can solve a quest... (and excuse my english) :p

    I have an old G4 with ati rage 128pro (630-2906) and recently bought a 20'' cinema display.
    It seems to be not compatible, but I read on many 3ds that should be... or not?

    The card seems to have a dvi-d dual link connector and the display a single link... :confused:

    Do someone can explain wich is the matter? Can be some malfunction?

    Thanks a lot! :)
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    Newton, IA
    #10
    I don't believe the ATI Rage Pro supports the resolution for the 20" ACD.

    *edit* The card supports the resolution, but will not support the new ACD's.
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1825 Check the link.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    #11
    THe ATI Rage 630-2906 had DVI and VGA, a cinema display with ADC will require the ~ $100 adapter.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #12
    But my Cinema Display (there is this writing on the back) has a DVI-D single link connector...! :confused:
    I tried to connect it to the rage pro but the screen goes black after a while...
    Am I confusing something? :eek:

    Thanx!
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #13
    No one? :(
     

Share This Page