NEED HELP ASAP! TitanPB won't start up in OSX !!

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by wylie, Apr 7, 2004.

  1. wylie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #1
    since this morning, after i connected a firewire cable from my desktop to my PB, my Titanium won't load up into OSX !!

    It just gets stuck on the grey start-up screen with the white apple logo !?!??!!

    what can i do !!!!

    What is the boot short-cut key so that i can try loading it up in OS9?

    any help ?!?!?!?!
     
  2. mactastic macrumors 68040

    mactastic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Colly-fornia
  3. wylie thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
  4. mactastic macrumors 68040

    mactastic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Colly-fornia
    #4
    Can you start up off your OSX disk and run Disk Utility? I had a similar problem and ended up buying DiskWarrior to fix it.
     
  5. wylie thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #5
    no-it seems to get stuck on the grey start-up screen (with the white apple logo), and wont budge from there?
     
  6. mactastic macrumors 68040

    mactastic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Colly-fornia
    #6
    So you've put in the OSX disk and started up the computer while holding down the 'C' key?
     
  7. Roger1 macrumors 65816

    Roger1

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    before you try any of the above, unplug the firewire cable. I have found that fire wire has a VERY nasty habit of locking up machines. Hopefully this will help. :) If this takes care of the issue, your cable could be bad- but I've had this happen with good cables also.
     
  8. wylie thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #8
    shouldnt be a bad cable - i bought it for £20 today !

    would this **** -up be caused by not-ejecting the mounted disk first??
     
  9. Roger1 macrumors 65816

    Roger1

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
  10. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #10
    don't all the volumes get un-mounted at shut-down anyway?

    and if you still want to try booting OS 9, you can hold down 'Option' at startup and you'll get a 'choose your OS screen'.
     
  11. abhishekit macrumors 65816

    abhishekit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    akron , ohio
    #11
    yah first unplug the firewire cable, or any other third party peripheral devices..and see if it works...if yes..plug em one by one to check ...as roger said...
    if not, boot from install disk and run disk utility...as mactastic said.. :)
    if still problem...reset your PMU...
    hope it helps...
     

Share This Page