Need help creating a 3d logo in AE CS6

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by Stephiebby, Apr 13, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #1
    Hello,

    My name is Stephanie and I'm trying to make a logo for a friend of mine in After Effects CS6. I have only been using this program for about a month so I still do not know everything about it, but I'm slowly learning more and more.

    Anyways, I finished creating the logo in Photoshop, saved it both as a jpg and as a psd file. I looked up some tutorials on how to make text 3d in AE but I've found that since it is not a text object anymore that under "Geometry Options" there is no option to bevel or extrude, as all of the tutorials I looked at used this method.

    Is there a way that I can take this basic black wording over a white background (which I will eventually make transparent) and make it 3d with depth?

    I apologize if this is not the right section to ask this but I haven't used these forums too much. Also I said, I tried looking around for the answer but I don't want to spend hours looking if it cannot be done.

    Thank you!
     
  2. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #2
    You need to make it transparent now in Photoshop. It might be a background layer now if you merged it, so you just need to select it in the layers box and make it a layer. Just use the Color Range feature, select the white, and it should do it very cleanly without any issue.

    After that convert it to a shape and you should then have the bevel/extrude features in AE once you reimport it.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #3
    Alright, I'll try that now and see if that works. Thanks!
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #4
    I tried using the convert to a shape option but it is greyed out for some reason. I tried selecting the image with the magic wand tool but that still didn't work. Is there a specific way to get this option to work?
     
  5. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #5
    Figured it out!

    So, you want to select your text out, and then go to Window > Paths.

    And then click on the options button on the top right and click "Make Work Path".

    Then click the Pen Tool, right-click on the logo, and then select Define Custom Shape and give it a name.

    And then just re-add it using the Custom Shape Tool. Save it and then try reimporting to AE. That should work.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #6
    What method should I use to export so it is read as a shape? It keeps just importing as an image file.
     
  7. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #7
    Ahh, right! I would try Export > Paths to Illustrator and then use that file.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #8
    Should I be importing the .ai file it made into AE? Or do I go into illustrator and save it as another file type?

    When I try to import the .ai file it is just blank (even though I used the live paint bucket tool to fill the paths in with black).
     
  9. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #9
    You want to go into Illustrator, copy the path, and then paste it into After Effects.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #10
    It still doesn't have the option to extrude. Is there something that I'm missing?

    Heres what it looks like now:
    [​IMG]
     
  11. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #11
    It looks like you still have your background.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #12
    I think that is the background of the AE comp, Is there a way to make that transparent?
     
  13. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #13
    It's next to where it says Active Camera on your screenshot. On the left there's a checkered button.

    Although I'm not sure where to go from here. :confused: Considering I just tried to make a basic shape to see if the options would work that way.

    So I'll let someone else chime in.
     
  14. 12dylan34, Apr 14, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #14
    The only thing that After Effects can extrude is text layers and shape layers, meaning that you need to be able to convert your graphic into a shape layer. For this, it must be a vector graphic format, preferably .ai. You CAN'T extrude an Ai file without first converting it to a shape layer.

    NOTE: A "shape layer" is something very specific in After Effects, and not just a solid with a mask on it.

    Import your .ai file into AE, drag it into a comp, then, with the layer selected, go to Layer > Create Shapes from Vector Layer. It will think for a minute, then create a shape layer version of your graphic. You will then be able to extrude the shape layer.

    If it doesn't work, then your .ai file doesn't actually contain a vector graphic. From your screenshot, it looks like you might have chosen auto-trace instead of the correct option that I listed above.

    If you can't do it, collect your project (file > collect files), zip up the folder that it creates, and upload it to your next post and I'll take a look.

    I've attached a screenshot if that's useful to you.

    I'm 99% sure that your issue is in what you're trying to extrude. If I were you, I would just quickly remake that logo in Illustrator (which is really the correct tool to use for logos), then save that and import it into AE.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #15
    If it just needs to be a still, I agree. After Effects isn't going to give a lot of options as to customizing the look of the 3D all too much. Photoshop for a still, or a dedicated 3D program for motion, I would say.
     

Share This Page