Need help installing games (w/ pic)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Macoltrane, May 14, 2006.

  1. Macoltrane macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    #1
    So I threw in one of my Blizzard games which is said to be compatible with both Mac and PC (I bought this for my PC a while back). Up comes a message that says I don't have a Mac OS9 system folder. I use OSX Tiger btw.

    I thought that Classic would allow me to use programs developed for Mac OS9. Do I need to go out and purchase an outdated OS to have my old programs work on Mac? See below for pic. Thanks in advance :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Benjamin macrumors 6502a

    Benjamin

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Which blizzard game? and in theory if classic didn't come with the install disks with your computer or os x tiger then yes you would have to go buy os 9.
     
  3. GilGrissom macrumors 65816

    GilGrissom

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #3
    Ye OS 9 will not be installed on your system by default. It should be on your OSX install CD/DVDs, most likely the 2nd one. You need to insert that and install it, then Classic will be able to run properly and find that OS9 folder it cannot currently find, and thus making your game work!

    That should do the jobby.

    So check your OSX install CDs. It should almost certainly be on there (I know of no reason why it shouldn't be on the Tiger install DVDs-mine was).
     
  4. Macoltrane thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    #4
    Diablo II/Starcraft

    Are you talking about the install disks that came with the purchase of my Mac (came with latest operating system. latest revision)?

    EDIT- Great, I found the disc guys. Thanks for all the help.
     
  5. Benjamin macrumors 6502a

    Benjamin

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
  6. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #6
    Yeah, Classic should come on the disc marked "Apple Hardware Test and Other Software."
     
  7. Macoltrane thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    #7
    OK, I've just installed Mac OS9 and apparently Classic is unable to update its files in the System Folder. Anyone got a clue as to how I can do this manually or what the problem is? I get this same textbox for both games.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page