Need help installing new hard drive

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mikedgolf40505, Jun 23, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #1
    :confused: I am looking at buying a Seagate Hybrid drive. It is 500GB 7200 RPM HD and 4GB SSD. You can make the 4GB SSD the boot drive and therefor cut your boot time in about half. So can anyone give me some instructions on doing this. I have complete backups on a Time Capsule, so that is not an issue. I am not sure how to install the new drive or how to partition the SSD as the boot drive. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #3
    The momentus XT actually puts the most used files into those 4GB, and as far as I know, there is no way to change that, so you would treat it as any other replacement hard drive.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    ThirtyThr33

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    #4
    I don't mean to ask another question on top of your question but can the 4gb sad hold the entire OS? I thought the newest version of OSX was ~5-6gb?

    Edit: NVM someone already replied before I posted lol
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #5
    I'm not sure about lion, but you can easily get SL down to 5-6GB using the custom install options, and trimming programs
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesnowda
    #6
    But, bottom line is you'll want at to go for the 8GB range. Since nobody knows how Lion will be installed yet (download then install over or clean install) you might want that extra leeway
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Sam2lucky13

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    #7
    I didnt read the hold thread but that 4gbs is not something that you can designate to put anything in particular on...on its own it uses that bit of flash for things you access the most.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #8
    Thanks for the information

    Apparently I was mistaken about using the SSD for the boot drive. I went to the Seagate site and it apparently uses it's own algorithm to determine what goes on the SSD and also controls the boot time. Supposedly these drives are faster than both HDs and SSDs, although I am not sure how they could be faster than SSDs. With that question out of the way, what do I do to install this drive properly?
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    Where has that been stated?
    Read the links I posted in my first reply. They include guides on how to do it.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #10
    @simsaladimbamba

    Thanks so much for the help!! :)
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    Its actually not a bad way of handling it, as while OSX may be more than 4GB, only a tiny fraction of that will be read at boot or general usage. The standard install includes all of the additional cruft and applications that are a part of OSX and not used frequently.

    The hard disk has no knowledge of where files are, or even what filesystem its running, it simply copies the most frequently accessed sectors of the disk into the flash memory, so it may in fact copy part of a file if not the whole file.

    Also means that if in a RAID 0 array, it should still cache the most used sectors correctly across both disks and in effect act as an 8GB flash cache (or more given more disks).

    That's what I'm aiming for for my laptop once I get the second 500GB disk and Optibay.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Sam2lucky13

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    #12
    ive used one its now in an enclosure and i have an ssd...its no where near as fast as an ssd
     

Share This Page