Need help linking against Sparkle.framework!

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Littleodie914, Aug 17, 2006.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #1
    Hello again, faithful Mac programming community! :D I'm trying to add update functionality to my app, but can't seem to get the Sparkle framework to work in my app! I've followed the directions to the T, but when I build I get 3 warnings and 1 error... The warnings are...

    Code:
    warning -F: directory name (/Users/Craig/Documents/Cocoa) does not exist
    warning -F: directory name (Programs/My) does not exist
    warning -F: directory name (Programs/iProcrastinate) does not exist
    
    and the error is...

    Code:
    Command /usr/bin/gcc-4.0 failed with exit code 1
    I'm assuming the error spawns from the warnings? I followed the documentation that came with the framework, but I've never linked against any frameworks before, so I was mostly following blindly. (Though I've done it multiple times, re-read the directions, and still can't figure it out!) Has anyone else had this problem? If so, how'd you fix it? :(

    Edit: Figured I could link to the site of the framework for reference... Here
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    XCode has serious issues with paths containing spaces when specifying extra directories to link to. Try putting everything in paths without spaces. I have tried quoting the paths, escaping the spaces, everything. In the end I gave up and renamed the directories to not have spaces.
     
  3. Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #3
    I pretty much got Sparkle to work by following the instructions. But if you've got the sparkle framework in a directory that has a space anywhere in it's path, xCode will throw a wobbler - I know, I downloaded it and put the dl in a directory called 'Sparkle Framework' :rolleyes:
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #4
    You'll have to edit the framework path setting in the Build tab in your target's Get Info window and put the entire thing in quotes, but even then it may not work.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #5
    Ah, I see! Thanks so much for the help guys, I'm sure I never would have figured this out on my own. :) :D
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #6
    I don't think anyone has ever figured out Xcode and Cocoa on their own ;)
     

Share This Page