Need help on picking a good UPS

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by strausd, Jun 5, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    First off, I have a budget. It looks like after buying all the main things, I will have somewhere around $200 left. Now I know that people will say "don't cheap out on the UPS" but sorry, I can't spend money I do not have. I have found two UPS's that look pretty good and would like people's opinions on them. If you know of another UPS that is within the same price range that you think works really well, please let me know :)

    Here are the two that I am currently looking at:

    http://www.amazon.com/APC-BACK-UPS-...2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1275721271&sr=8-2

    http://www.amazon.com/Cyberpower-CP...1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1275721271&sr=8-1
     
  2. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #2
    Between the two, I'd go for the APC unit (it's the bare minimum you can get away with).
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Does APC have a better warranty?
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #4
  5. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    That is really close to my price range. However, I am a little skeptical to buy a refurb UPS because I have no idea where it has been and the warranty isn't as good.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    I have the exact APC model you listed. I love it.
     
  7. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #7
    Both the APC and CyberPower units listed (links) have a 3yr warranty.

    It's a SmartUPS, which is a better unit (ideally, an Online type, though some of the newer ones are Line Interactive). Specific model numbers will tell you the difference between them, but it's not listed on the link, so I presume multiple P/N's could be used.

    I've bought refurbished systems before, and not had any problems (they can last you 10 yrs or so, as they're built like tanks).
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    How long have you had yours?
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #9
    I have used that cyberpower for about 3+ years. Works like a charm~~~~ :D
     
  10. Loa
    macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #10
    Hello,

    I've also had the APC unit for about a year, and I'm loving it.

    Loa
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    2 to 1 so for, looks like I'll be going with the APC
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    In a nice place..
    #12
    I have the APC model. Had it for almost a year. It has been used a couple of times for small little outages, and a big outage two days ago. I have a 2008 2.8 Octo with 4 drives, 2 24LCD monitors, and a few odds and ends plugged into it, and I had about 13-14 minutes of runtime. Only needed about 7 before the power kicked back in.

    love my apc
     
  13. macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #13
    Since December 2009. I have my 30" ACD, a 22" Dell monitor, the Mac Pro, speaker system and external drive plugged into it. As far as I know, it's only been through a few brown-out / power flickers... no extended outages. I think my Mac is happy to have been protected during those times.
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #14
    I have the APC BACK-UPS RS BR1300LCD on my 2008 Macpro and it has worked great for 2+ years. Never had I issue with it being under powered
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    Has anyone installed the software it comes with?
     
  16. Loa
    macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #16
    Nah. You don't need it if you're running 10.5 or later (maybe even 10.4, but I'm not sure). Energy Saver preferences will give you decent options to configure your UPS.

    Loa
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Flash SWT

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #17
    I also have that APC model, works just fine with the first Mac Pro in my signature.

    .
     
  18. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #18
    Have you not used it with the 09 MP?
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Flash SWT

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #19
    Unless I'm crazy the 09 MP is the first one in my signature...

    The 06 model is currently on an APC Smart-UPS 750 and it does NOT have enough juice to handle a wake from sleep event.

    .
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    steve knight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #20
    the apc software is 4 years out of date and fully worthless for osx. it is ok in windows but it never really has been updated but to the extent that it can operate on windows 7. my software started eating up all my resources and I had to uninstall it. but it never gave any options in osx anyway.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #21
    Sorry, misread that. I guess I'm the crazy one haha
     

Share This Page