Need Help Please!!! Unlocking My New MacBook Pro!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by niggiebro, Feb 13, 2007.

  1. niggiebro macrumors member

    niggiebro

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Location:
    City of Angels
    #1
    I just got this MacBook Pro, Tiger, 10.4.8, Intel Core2 Duo 2.33 GHz, 2 GB, 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM, from a third party person, but it's not allowing me to install programs without "Administrator Password". I don't know the Admin PW... (I'm glad it set to "Auto-Login"), and I know you can reset it using the OSX installation disc by holding the "C" key at Startup, but my Mac Book starts straight into OSX.

    I tried inserting the Disc in the DVD drive and tried using the "Startup Disk" in the "System Preferences", but the only options available are "Mac OS X, 10.4.8" and "Network Startup" I don't see the OSX Installation Disc.

    I did a little research on Apple website and found that maybe I need to disable "Open Firmware Password Protection" first before I could Reset the Administrator Password, but after reading a little it doesn't state how to "Disable" Open Firmware, but how to "Enable" it, it's disabled by Default. It gives an option on how to "Trouble Shoot" the Computer running Open Firmware, but only on "PowerPC-based" computer and not "Intel-based", because they don't use Open Firmware and my MacBook Pro is Intel-based!!!

    The other thing I noticed is a program called Deep Freeze Controller Version, by Faronics ver. 3.10.070.0134. Could this be the problem and if it is how do I get rid of it!!! It also asks for a Password which I do not know!

    Man I hope someone here can HELP as I always come here for all me questions!:D
     
  2. xtopher macrumors regular

    xtopher

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario
    #2
    did it come used or something??? maybe where you got it from put a password on it
     
  3. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    I presume you have contacted the third party?



    FJ
     
  4. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #4
    try put the disk in there, and restart while holding Alt/Option
     
  5. bankshot macrumors 65816

    bankshot

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Southern California
    #5
    I believe it's the "D" key on Intel Macs (D for DVD).
     
  6. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #6
    contact the person you bought it from, and never buy a Mac on a street corner again...

    If that doesn't work, wipe the drive and reinstall.

    Deep Freeze is workstation recovery software that monitors user changes and resets the machine to a baseline state after someone messes it up.

    Next time make sure the machine isn't part of a workstation arrangement. I hope you got a good deal on it.
     
  7. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    Insert the disks and restart the computer. Select your language but do not proceed any further into the installation!

    From here, under the installer menu (right next to the blue apple in the upper-left corner) select "Reset Password."
     
  8. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #8
    Can you boot into single-user mode? If so, this would indicate that a firmware password has not been implemented. To boot this way, hold down command-s while the machine boots.

    Apple.com link
     
  9. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #9
    Switch around your RAM sticks.

    no, I'm not kidding. Read apple support for that Open Firmware Reset...

    nothing can beat physical access to a computer...

    "Warning: The Open Firmware Password can be reset and changed by any one of the following:

    1. By any administrator user, as designated in the Accounts preferences (or in Server Admin).
    2. Via physical access to the inside of the computer.
    3. When the computer is started up in Mac OS 9."

    Disclaimer: This method is available by a simple google search and is implied on Apple Support. Please change my post if you think that it is too "revealing"
     
  10. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #10
    The MacBooks don't have open firmware. They have EFI
     
  11. p0intblank macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #11
    This is a long stretch, but try continuing without a password and click OK.
     
  12. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #12
    That is probably the best advice I've seen here. Sometimes the most obvious things need to be spelled out cause people simply overlook them :)

    BTW I did not know that you pressed 'D' to boot from an Intel DVD drive? Had I had a problem I would be stuck pressing 'C' the whole time :(
     
  13. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #14
    True, but you can still enable firmware passwords even on EFI.
     
  14. gameguy3001 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    #15
    you dont press 'D' to start from a disk, the 'D' stands for diagnostic, it will get your computer to boot the the apple hardware test which is located on install disk 1 as well. you still need to hold down 'C' to boot to the installer and to get to disk utility/reset password
     
  15. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #16
    Doesnt matter. Try the RAM switch.

    And if the real problem is indeed a firmware password...you cannot boot from any CD...that's what it's designed for. Holding alternative boot up keys like C or D will not bring up the boot up screen.

    Read above methods of circumvention. I know its for OF, it doesnt matter.

    and I've personally tried firmware password protection. To get to the OS selection screen (bootcamp), a password would be needed to get there. I also believe that after putting in that password with an installation disk in the computer brings you to the boot selector, from which you can reinstall OSX.

    Try holding Option down while booting. If a password is prompted, then it is indeed password protected. If not, it's something else. If it is, then do the ram switch.
     
  16. logandzwon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #17
    The perpose of the firmware password to limit the usability of the machine if it is aquired illegally. As long as you have acuired it legitimenty, and might have to prove it, the apple store or apple support can help you reset it.
     
  17. niggiebro thread starter macrumors member

    niggiebro

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Location:
    City of Angels
    #18
    I'd like to thank all of you for your comments and help!!!

    Apparently I was trying to boot up using the Installation disk not supported for my MacBook Pro which is Intel-based! So it looks like I have to go buy a copy of Tiger for a Intel-based Mac! :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page