Need help with eMac NOW!!!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Sambo110, Feb 21, 2009.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I accidently put the Mac folder (forget what it is called, basically the OS) into the trash, and now when I boot it it just goes to a grey screen and says weird things. Even when I put in the Mac OS X install disc and hold "c". Someone please help me. :(
     
  2. RKO
    macrumors 6502

    RKO

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #2
    Are you restarting the eMac with the power button when you press "C". This has to be done on startup!
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    I turn it on, and keep pressing eject, it opens, I put the disc in, turn it off, then back on and hold "c". Am I meant to put in disc 1 or 2? I put in 1.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #4
    It would be disc 1. When are you letting go of "C". You shouldn't let go of that key until you see the gray screen with the Apple logo and the spinning activity wheel below it. You also mentioned that you see some odd text, what does it say? That you need to restart the computer or does it look like a coding language with a black background and white text?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    I never let go of "c" until the weird text comes up. It is the grey screen that says to restart your computer, but there ir also text that mentions unix and stuff, so probably coding language.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #6
    Hmm. Getting a kernel panic on startup is not a good thing...do you have a peripheral device hooked into the computer like a printer/scanner, iPod, external hard drive? If not you have some bad juju in the computer hardware itself.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    I am really pissed off, cause last night I remembered that my eMac can't read DVD's anymore for some reason, so now my eMac is as good as dead :(. The things connected to my Mac are a wireless keyboard, a wired mouse, a speaker system, an iPod Touch charge cable and an ethernet cable. Is there any way to fix it with a broken DVD drive. I guess the only way is to ge tCD versions of Mac OS X.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    #8
    You should try it with a wired keyboard, wireless doesn't always work right for startup shortcuts on older Macs.

    Also try option instead of C, that will let you pick your bootdisk from a list.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    As I said, for some reason my eMac doesn't read DVD's anymore, so would that work? I will try with a wired keyboard, you never know.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    THANK YOU THANK YOU. I booted from the other HDD, cause my other apple keyboard worked, and I am in! It is weird. Everything is still on my HDD, but the dock, desktop etc is how it was ages ago, and it is 10.4.10. But thanks.

    EDIT: Now my iPod Touch won't sync, is there a reason for this? Will I have to format it to sync it again? Cause that would be so annoying.
     
  11. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #11
    Yes. Count your blessings.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    So I have to lose absolutely everything from my iPod? Cause it's all off my Mac. All the movies, music, apps etc? That sucks. But I guess I should be thankful my Mac is working.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    mknawabi

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #13
    Use a 3rd party app to copy your music back to your HD.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    My iPod won't sync to my Mac now! It opens iPhoto whenever I plug it in, and opens in iTunes in my mums iMac when I plug it in, but doesn't open in iTunes on my mac. Anyone know why?
     
  15. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #15
    Isn't that what it was doing before?
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    What? It wouldn't start before, now the iPod won't sync to iTunes.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #17
    Now when I click about this mac, more info is greyed out. Is this a problem? It isn't that bad, but could it mean something worse? I really think it's time to upgrade.

    EDIT: I found everything from before hidden away, all my iTunes stuff etc. Copying it over now, I hope it fixes my iPod problem.
     
  18. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #18
    By "before" I mean 4 posts before, when you said exactly the same thing.

    Try opening /Applications/Utilities/System Profiler.app instead of going through About This Mac. It's odd that it should be grayed out, though.
     

Share This Page