Need help with G4 Cube 500Mhz

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by dwl017, Mar 24, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    dwl017

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Location:
    Murder Capitol DC
    #1
    Good evening everyone,

    I picked up a 500Mhz G4 Cube today and have spent the last four hours trying to make it boot :mad: I only paid $100 for it with everything plus a cinema display so I'm not upset about losing a ton of money but this sucker just wont boot.

    I get a Apple boot screen with a grey apple that turns into a round circle with a line through it. Will not boot through OS CD by holding down the C key and any of the other million remedies you find online.

    I hate to take in for service because I know they will want more the the $100 I paid for it.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #2
    What OS Version?

    What OS version CD? Do you have any other OS X versions you can try? Tiger will install and run on Cube 500. How much RAM is in there? It will take 3 x 512MB Mods and should be loaded with all that for optimum performance.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    dwl017

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Location:
    Murder Capitol DC
    #3
    I have Tiger on a retail DVD but since the Cube is CD RW combo it wont work. I also have an old PowerMac G4 DP 867Mhz 2002 Jaguar CD I tried no go. I have a homemade copy version of Panther which is on CD no go with it also. So far as ram goes there is at least 512 in the Cube. I just cant see taking an old Cube in for service seems like a watse of money any thoughts ?

    Thanks
     
  4. macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #4
    Cube 500 Is A DVD Combo NON-Writer Optical NOT CD±RW

    Try your Tiger DVD. The 500 is a DVD Combo optical not CD±RW.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Australia, Where Omnius can't find me!
    #5
    Agree. Note my 450 has a CD/DVD reader, which came stock, so the 500 will DEFINITELY have a DVD reader, unless something funny's going on.

    Most likely the computer just doesn't work. Try replacing the battery maybe? It could be flat. I "think" mine's been replaced.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #6
    If It Won't Boot From An External DVD Reader You Know Works, Logic Board Problems

    OR Pull the HD and Install Tiger from your PM. Then put it back in and see if it'll boot then.
    OR It could be bad RAM.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #7
    I had the exact same problem on an old 500 Mhz Ti PowerBook that I picked up cheap, it was bad RAM
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    #8
    I just bought and set up a 450Mhz cube. Like others have said, you must have a DVD reader, as my 450 has one.

    Did you try holding down the option key as you booted? Regardless of the state of your boot devices, doing that should boot to a graphical screen (as opposed to a terminal-like text only screen). That screen will show you all available boot devices.

    If that screen won't show up, then I would begin to suspect RAM or the motherboard.
     

Share This Page