need HELP with G5 RAM choice; PC2-6400? OR stick with PC2-4200E-444?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MacChaaz, May 25, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    #1
    Hi guys.

    My power mac G5 is an old late 2005 quad core model. ECC; briefly this is me

    Standard Configuration
    for Apple Power Macintosh G5
    Late 2005 QuadCore 2.5GHz DDR2 ECC (M9592LL/A)

    and i have NEVER bought any ram before coz i hardly used the machine in those days, so what i have so far are 2 of these:

    1 GB DDR2 SDRAM EEC PC2-4200E-444.

    So i am going to buy 16GBs of new ram in 4GB pieces; so can i purchase this typ of ram?

    4GB kit (2GBx2), 240-pin DIMM, DDR2 PC2-6400 memory module
    CT785039

    * Module Size: 4GB kit (2GBx2)
    * Package: 240-pin DIMM
    * Feature: DDR2 PC2-6400
    * Specs: DDR2 PC2-6400 • CL=6 • Unbuffered • ECC • DDR2-800 • 1.8V • 256Meg x 72 •

    at http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=205ECD41A5CA7304


    OR must I purchase a DDR2 PC2-4200E444 exactly the same as what i have?

    I just wanna know whether the PC2-6400 module makes any difference, it wont blow up my mac will it?

    Cheers guys.
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    14,906
    Location:
    Missouri
    #2
    You need the PC2-4200. The G5 cannot take the PC2-6400.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    #3
    thanks

    Thanks for responding mate. So let me understand you correctly,

    I cannot use ANY other number other than the PC2-4200E-444 right?

    Not even PC2-533 numbers? Nothing like that?

    Cheers
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    14,906
    Location:
    Missouri
    #4
    Correct.
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,533
    Location:
    Japan...at the waters edge...
  6. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    14,906
    Location:
    Missouri
    #6
  7. macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,284
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #7
    ECC will not work either.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    #8
    Yeah. But it seems NO stores sell PC4200E-444.

    So if i just want 16 GBs of new RAM, i could very well just go ahead and purchase the PC2-5300 RAM right? But then why not the PC26400? Since they're all the same price.

    But then RjC dude said i can't use ANY ram other than 4200E-444, otherwise my RAM wont ever work right?

    Man, now i gotta find a supplier of 4200E ram.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    #9
    Erm.. doesn't my Power mac use ECC ram? So why wouldn't the ECC ram that i purchase work for my mac?

    I am getting confused here.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,114
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #10
    Why try to use anything but the ram specified for that machine? I have a late 2005 Power Mac G5 2.0GHz and recently bought and installed 2 2GB PC2-4200E-444 chips, relatively inexpensive I thought. Along with the 4 256MB chips that were originally installed, I now have 5Gb so I know those PC2-4200E-444 chips work. Do a search for "PC2-4200E-444" on any ram shop, like OWC or other and you should be able to find the right ram for that machine and it will run better for it!:D
    At least for my modest needs, 5 GB is more than enough, as I rarely use even half of it.
    And don't be confused about the ECC ram either, your machine can use either, just don't mix within the pairs! You can use a mix of ECC and Non-ECC (NECC) too, but each pair must be identical. The chips are installed in pairs from the inner 2 slots outwards on the ram slot board (Does that make sense without a visual? I found a graphic description on the web (sorry no linky) but I didn't keep it around. Do you have the manual for the computer? There is a graphic in there too. It's actually quite easy to install.)
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    14,906
    Location:
    Missouri
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    #12
    Thanks mate. I think im just gonna do that. It makes the most sense, just follow what the heck i already have u know.

    Its just that my PC mates told me that its better to have PC-numbers the highest coz it means they go faster or some ****.. i mean my mac is an older model so maybe they made "BETTER RAM" in the last 4 years.

    Im searching for ram now.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    #13
  14. macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,284
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #14
    No.

    PC4200 is dirt cheap at $15/GB. Load up with 8GB for $120. 5.5GB is plenty for me, even with a 2GB ram disk.
     
  15. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,533
    Location:
    Japan...at the waters edge...
    #15
    ...ECC memory is more expensive...if you can even find it in those speeds.

    Also Crucial is a company putting their name on this product working... its more than some guys on a forum saying what will/won't work...
     
  16. macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,562
    Location:
    Denmark
    #16
    Be sure to get Mac compatible ram!

    Since it has 8 ram slots you can cheaply buy eight 2GB modules for a total of 16GB ram.
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,284
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #17
    EEC ram will not work when the computer cannot use it.

    No such thing. As long as its PC4200, it will work.

    Unless they need that much, thats a waste of money. 8GB is more than ample for what a G5 can handle.
     
  18. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    14,906
    Location:
    Missouri
    #18
    Yes, higher numbers are faster, but the computer cannot go any faster than what it is rated. Yours is rated for PC2-4200, so that is the fastest it can utilize.
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,114
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #19
    The Apple manual that came with my late 2005 model (PCIe slots) 2.0GHz dual core machine says the machine can use ECC or non ECC, as I posted above. The older models with PCIx slots may not be compatible with ECC, I don't really know.
    Given that it is OK on the late 2005 models, ECC is more expensive and I do not think it is necessary. At least my 5 GB of non-ECC ram works fine.:cool:
     
  20. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4,064
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #20
    Usually finding the slower "recommended" by Apple Ram can sometimes be difficult and more expensive. Most memory modules will automatically downclock to the systems specs so running a stick of faster memory is not always a bad thing. I usually buy the faster memory for my machines because it's usually cheaper and would be more compatible if I put that in other machines that could use it.

    Just because Apple doesn't "recommend" it doesn't mean it won't work, just like their maximum memory specs which we all know is usually false.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    #21
    Man and i thought only the social sciences could start such debates..

    WEll Newegg is out, they do not ship outside the US.

    And the dude who said Crucial is staking their name on it working... yet on the Quad Core page, they say PC 6400 is compatible with my system.

    So i am really at a loss rofl...

    Its hard for me to purchase an old PC2 4200 spec overseas in Singapore, they pride themselves on being top of the line and advanced, so either they're super advanced that i cant get old ram specs OR they are behind because i cant buy ram which i can get anywhere else rofl.

    I am lost.
     
  22. macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,562
    Location:
    Denmark
    #22
    If you want to avoid issues, it would be better to get compatible ram modules.

    The original poster said he wanted 16GB of ram and the late 2005 Power Mac happens to support up to 16GB.
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,284
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #23
    Then he'd better get PC4200 ram.
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,114
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #24
  25. macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,562
    Location:
    Denmark
    #25
    Look for Kingston KTA-G5533/4G or KTA-G5533/2G :)
     

Share This Page