Need help with monitor refresh rate on NT4.

Discussion in 'Community' started by Bengt77, Jun 24, 2005.

1. Bengt77 macrumors 68000

Bengt77

Hi all,

I just did a Very Stupid Thing this morning. At work, I had to use a Windows NT4 machine for a while, but it's monitor settings were somewhat odd, so I opened up the display settings as soon as it had finished booting. I then also saw that the refresh rate was set to 85Hz, so I changed that to a higher setting (100Hz, I believe), but after that, the screen went blank.

I've tried rebooting in safe mode (although it's called differently on NT4), but I didn't get the controls I got when in normal mode. Nevertheless, I studied the keyboard commands necessary to get to the refresh rate setting, so I would be able to change it when in normal mode, even without any display to guide me. But alas, that doesn't seem to work. I've tried that twice, but with no luck; the display is still black. It's displaying a hardware message about the vertical and horizontal frequencies it's using, or whatever it means.

What I'm looking for, as you'll understand, is a way to return to the 85Hz setting that actually worked. Does anybody know of an easy way that doesn't involve reinstalling Windows or anything even remotely unnecessary? I'd be really happy. Damn, I wish Windows had that Mac option that only shows you the refresh rates your display is able to handle.

Stupid Windows! (Yeah, I know, and stupid me... :eek: )

2. 40167 macrumors regular

Well the best option (next time) would be if you set the monitor incorrectly, just leave and get yourself a cup of coffee or something... it'll eventualy reset back to the previous setting if you dont push anything. (newer systems... 2000/XP... if your monitor is pnp, or you install the driver if there is one, then windows will only display the options that your display can handle)