Need help with Parallels and graphics drivers

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Max Payne, Feb 3, 2007.

  1. Max Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #1
    I apologize for hijacking the thread, but I installed Parallels more than once and I can't get the graphics card's driver to install. I still get an 8MB Parallels drivers installed. What should I do?

    Again, I am sorry for hijacking the thread. :eek:
     
  2. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    While Parallels tools is trying to install? Are you installing on a Bootcamp based VM?
     
  3. Max Payne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #3
    Yes I am. I installed Win XP using Bootcamp long time ago. I am using the same drivers for the parallels Win XP installation. Was that stupid? Do I need different drivers? :eek:
     
  4. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    So you installed XP a long time ago using BootCamp. When you did Paralles did you use the BootCamp option within Parallels or create a new virtual machine? Either way the action to take now would be to click (while your VM is started in Paralles) Actions [in the menubar] and then Install Parallels Tools.
     
  5. Max Payne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #5
    No. I installed Bootcamp and Win XP on November. I deleted both Win XP and bootcamp a week later. Now I installed Parallels, followed by Win XP. When the whole installation finished, I insterted the drivers CD (from bootcamp assistant). I was asked to restart. I restarted, but the drivers were not installed.

    Do I need a different ay of drivers installation?
     
  6. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Yes. The BootCamp drivers don't apply to Parallels. Like I said above, Actions > Install Parallels Tools while the VM is running.
     

Share This Page