NEED HELP WITH TextEdit (Word Processor)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by sjpetry, Jan 2, 2005.

  1. sjpetry macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #1
    I was useing TextEdit in OS X and when you make the font bigger or smaller it doesn't tell you what point it is ( like 12pt font ). Is there a better freeware out there.

    Please Help Me This paper is due tomorrow!

    Thanks
     
  2. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #2
  3. goodtimes5 macrumors 6502a

    goodtimes5

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #3
    Press apple-T on your keyboard to bring up the font box. You can edit your size there.
     
  4. sjpetry thread starter macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #4
    I tried openoffice and it wouldn't work. Says it can't open X something.

    Office won't let you print out thing during the trial version. :mad:

    i'll try again
     
  5. sjpetry thread starter macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #5
    I am putting it at 12 which should an ok size but it is Very Very small on the paper. It says it is 12 but it is clearly not. :(

    Can someone help me

    thanks
     
  6. therevolution macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    #6
    Try something bigger than 12, maybe??
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    More suggestions:

    1) Did your iMac come with AppleWorks? It should be in the Applications directory, and if you're not willing to pay for Word, it's a not-half-bad option....

    2) Try NeoOffice/J: http://www.neooffice.org/ It is a variant of OpenOffice, but more heavily mac-ported. I think OO is not running on your computer because you don't have Apple X11 installed. I don't think you need it for Neo though.
     
  8. sjpetry thread starter macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #8
    Do you know what a 12pt on word would be in textedit?
     
  9. crackpip macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    #9
    Did you select the text then change the font size? As far as I know font sizes are standard. Sometimes the font panel doesn't automatically update when you first bring it up. So click something like 14 then click 12 again.

    crackpip
     
  10. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    12 pt is 12 pt.
     
  11. mian macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #11
    Font size

    More TextEdit options:

    Under format select: Make rich text.

    Under format select: font, show fonts.
    Highlight the text, change font size.
     
  12. idkew macrumors 68020

    idkew

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Location:
    where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
    #12
    you got it mian.

    for some reason the default behavior of text edit makes it little like a regular word processor. maybe b/c apple wants you using appleworks for that...
     
  13. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #13
    Assuming Mian's right (sounds right), then step 2 = go to prefs and change the default format to rich text so you don't have the issue again. :) It's the top option on the left. Probably why I didn't even think of it when I saw this??? :(
     
  14. sjpetry thread starter macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #14
    you guys fixed it, thanks for everyone who posted. :D
     

Share This Page