Need help with word... section breaks...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jamesmcd, May 12, 2006.

  1. jamesmcd macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #1
    Hi All,

    If there's one program that I don't like using, it's Word... Anyway...

    My mother is doing some heavy word document processing at the moment, i.e. 130 pages +, and people who have been sending her bits that they have written appear to have stuck section breaks all through it. Of course, this is completely wrecking page numbers.

    All we want is for page 1 to be page 1, and for page 130 to be 130, none of this section nonsense.

    So my question, is how do I remove all these damn section breaks? I have been playing around with it in vain for about 20 minutes now. Any help would be great.

    Cheers
     
  2. rdowns Suspended

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #2
    I use Word a lot at work on a PC but rarely on my Mac. In Windows, I never paste text into Word without first pasting it into Notepad to remove all formatting. Sounds like you need the Mac equivalent.

    Have you tried the Reveal Formatting command, right clicking on text and selecting Match Destination formatting?
     
  3. mickhyperion macrumors regular

    mickhyperion

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    #3
    I've been able to get rid of page breaks by clicking at the start of the text following a break and backspacing until it goes away. That might be a long manual process for a large document though.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4

    Just out of interest, do you find that a better method to the Paste Special's Unformatted Text option? :)
     
  5. rdowns Suspended

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #5
    Hmmm. I use that method because it's how our web designer taught me how to paste text into Front Page (I do our HTML emails) and it just crossed over to Word. I use Paste SPecial in Excel all the time and it never occurred to me that Word had the same feature. :eek:
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Ahh, okay, thanks. I just thought there might be some problem with Word's version but I haven't had any thus far. :cool:
     
  7. rdowns Suspended

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #7
    Thank you for pointing out my deficiencies in certain computer skills. Any others? :D
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  9. rdowns Suspended

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #9
    Thank you sir, may I have another?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    I'd love to keep spanking but instead would just like to mention that if ever you want to replace formatting in Word documents, use the Find Replace box, press the little blue arrow to get more options and it'll show you how to select various things to replace.

    To replace all section breaks in a document with regular RETURN (new line) spots, simply put ^b in the find box and ^p in the replace box. :)
     

Share This Page