Need help with XP and Airport Express

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DVDSP, Jan 21, 2006.

  1. DVDSP macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    Southwick, MA
    #1
    OK, here's the deal. On her own my mom had Comcast set her up for internet access at home, works fine. Then she went out and bought a Linksys Wireless G router so she could use her Toshiba notebook wirelessly (duh). She ran into a problem though (working on her own), she gets a signal but can't connect. I told her to bring it by my house to see if I could get it working here.

    I am getting the same problem here, the notebook shows that it is getting an "excellent" signal from my Airport Express, and the AE name shows up, but I can't get the damn thing to connect. IE and AOL tell me there is no connection.

    Any ideas on what I need to do here?

    Thanks
     
  2. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
  3. DVDSP thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    Southwick, MA
    #3
    I don't know what configured correctly on XP is. As far as AE goes, everything is correct...
     
  4. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #4

    ahh ok...

    ok here is troubleshooting in a nutshell:

    start->run->cmd->enter->ipconfig /all what do you get...(i assume at this point your wireless card is enabled and trying to connect)

    what wireless card do you have? Like if you have a linksys or dlink they will have their own config software.

    is there are red x or yellow ? in the device manager (right click my computer and select properties->hardware->devices?( not sure on the name, but its the middle section and the far right button).

    does connecting to the router via cat5 cable work?
     
  5. EHUnlucky7x9@ao macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    I've ran into problems like that with PC laptops where the network is connected with XP, but I get no wireless. Apparently, the problem is that the PC card isnt fully configured. Even though it is installed onto the laptop itself, there is a program that came with the PC card that disables Windows XP's networking and has the laptop follow the program that the PC card came with. It should be on the bottom right...an icon for the wireless program. I would have to open it and type in the WEP key to get access to the router. The router may have a password...that could be the only way that the PC card detects and connects to the router, but doesn't get internet.

    The other reason that situation happened to me is that when I set up my router, I didn't leave the wireless signal to Channel 1. There are 6 different channels that my wireless works on and the program that is running the PC card usually needs to be told which Channel the wireless is on.
     
  6. DVDSP thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    Southwick, MA
    #6
    Thanks for your help guys. I connected the CAT5 cable to get temporary access at my house and updated drivers and used some trouble shooting on the Toshiba (the wireless card manufacturer) website and now everything is working as it should.

    Again, thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page