Need Help!!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by kenshi, Nov 3, 2006.

  1. kenshi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    hi guys....i'm hoping someone here can help me out, i've tried everything short of selling my soul to the apple guys.
    yesterday after a restart my mac locked me out of the administrator account turns out there was overlapping data on the HD. i fixed it through the single user mode but ever since then most of the applications i use freeze after 10 minutes or so (Azereus, transmission, disk utility, disk warrior) my life has come to a halt.

    any ideas??
     
  2. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #2
    you might try to re-link your applications. Open up the terminal, and enter this exactly as shown:

    sudo update_prebinding -root / -force

    hit enter

    it'll ask for your admin password, so type that in and hit enter.

    after it's done (you'll know it is when the prompt returns), restart the machine.

    a brief (very simple) explanation:
    your applications don't load all the related files they need all at once, so a lot of those files are "linked" to the applications. It could be that your apps are crashing because they're having a hard time establishing the link to the files they need in order to run properly i.e. they just can't find them. Updating the prebinding will re-establish the links so your apps will know where to look.

    it may or may not help, but it's worth a shot.

    also, if you haven't done it yet, run disk utility and verify/repair permissions. And you might also want to reset the PRAM.
     
  3. kenshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    i'll give that a shot, thanks.

    thing is i've tries booting up in safe mode and tried booting from the cd tp repair disk everything works fine but when i try and reboot into multi user mode and run applications like disk utility it freezes up. application stops responding i end up force quiting it and restarting the system. have done it atleast 20 times since yesterday.

    keep u posted on how it goes with termninal.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Welcome to MR

    If you make your thread title representative of the question you are asking, you will likely get even better results. This is the 2199th thread entitled {*} help!
     
  5. kenshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    noted....canadaram

    beatsme....tried what you said there was an error:

    Welcome to Darwin!
    skinnys-p-w-k:~ kenshi$ sudo update_prebinding -root/ -force
    Password:
    update_prebinding: warning: unknown option -root/
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    carefull with those spaces...
     
  7. kenshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    i've tried it all without space too same result
    skinnys-p-w-k:~ kenshi$ sudo update_prebinding-root/-force
    sudo: update_prebinding-root/-force: command not found
     
  8. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #8
    You don't have enough spaces...copy exactly what beatsme suggested.

    You're in terrible danger of borking your system even more if you go around inserting and deleting spaces in Terminal commands willy-nilly.
     
  9. zero2dash macrumors 6502a

    zero2dash

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Location:
    Fenton, MO
    #9
    You didn't put a space between root and /
    You put in root/
    It's supposed to be root /
    :D
     
  10. kenshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #10
    i've tried copying it from beatsme.....here what i got till now:

    Welcome to Darwin!
    skinnys-p-w-k:~ kenshi$ sudo update_prebinding -root/ -force
    Password:
    update_prebinding: warning: unknown option -root/
    skinnys-p-w-k:~ kenshi$ sudo update_prebinding-root/-force
    sudo: update_prebinding-root/-force: command not found
    skinnys-p-w-k:~ kenshi$ sudo update_prebinding -root / -force
    skinnys-p-w-k:~ kenshi$ sudo update_prebinding -root / -force
    skinnys-p-w-k:~ kenshi$

    with the spaces it doesn't ask me for a password
     
  11. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #11
    hmmm...that could be my fault. I haven't run this command in some time, and I remember being asked for a password, but its entirely possible I'm mistaken.

    at any rate, did you run the command? How'd it work?
     
  12. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #12
    You've got the command correct, and it definitely should ask for a password...I'm not sure why it's not. It should take a few minutes to run, so if it's immediately giving a prompt after entering it, it's not working. :confused:
     
  13. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #13


    how the heck do you guys all know these crazy commands all the time

    :) :D
     
  14. kenshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #14
    finally got the prebindings updated.....still no progress, i've just come out of an hour long freeze!!!

    Azereus froze on me again
     
  15. kenshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #15
    i'm lucky the only thing that doesn't freeze is safari even the finder went arctic on me a couple of times.....if only i knew something about macs

    thanks guyz really appreciate this.
     
  16. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #16
    hmm...did you try to reset the PRAM? Here's how to do it:

    restart the computer, and hold down these keys
    apple
    option
    the letter P
    the letter R

    keep holding the keys down until you've heard the startup chime 4 times. After that, release the keys and let it boot.
     
  17. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #17
    I was the de facto desktop support guy at my old job. The unwilling dupe, if you will :p You learn stuff like that out of necessity.

    also, I'm a big geek :D
     
  18. kenshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    London
  19. kenshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #19
    Guyz thanks to all the help i got here....i've done it. Finally it's running like it should (fingers crossed) no freezes in last 2 hours. turns out one of the external hard disk had bad sectors on it any time the system tried to use that paticular hd it would freeze. formatted the sucker and everything seems to be back to normal. I really appreciate what you guyz have done for me thanks.

    cheers!!

    try this on..."MacRumors we never leave a man behind"
     

Share This Page