Need legitimate help (I am not a pirate)

Discussion in 'Games' started by phonemonkey, Mar 2, 2004.

1. phonemonkey macrumors regular

I originally posted this in another thread but then realized it would be better suited here. I run an ibook 933 g4 and play star wars: jedi academy in multiplayer and singleplayer mode. Here's the problem: a lot of times when I am toting my notebook, router, cables, etc. it is inconvienent to take my cd cases which holds my games, so I tried to copy the game to my hard drive. It seemed to go fine, but would not play. I looked at the files on the CD to see if they all went ( I actually own the software, I'm not pirating) and there's a folder called base which would not copy to my HD. I am not good with file structure but I am assuming this is my problem. Is there any way to get this folder to copy, like I said I am not trying to pirate or even make a backup, just get the disk to my hd so I don't have to take the cd and scratch it up.
    Thanks in advance.

2. Opteron macrumors 6502

If you dumped the file correctly, then Try installing it from on your HDD. This should fix all the addressing issuse. Since I'm guessing at the moment the game only looks on the CD for data, not the HDD copy.

3. Daveman Deluxe macrumors 68000

Daveman Deluxe

I think you should use Disk Utility to make a disk image of the CD. Mount the image when you want to use the game. It takes up a lot of disk space (about 450 MB for a 650 MB CD) but it almost always works.

4. redAPPLE macrumors 68030

redAPPLE

on the same token

i, too, am not a pirate.

i own (honestly) this lauryn hill unplugged, the new norah jones cd and another rock band.and they all have this CPC (copy protection crap).

incidentally, at lease these 3 cds were given to me as gifts. my (old) cd player does not recognize them. i would like to copy them so i could listen to them on iTunes.

there does not seem to be a way to transfer them. :(

5. phonemonkey thread starter macrumors regular