Need Major Help w/ Installing RAM (System won't boot)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by berkleeboy210, Aug 12, 2005.

  1. berkleeboy210 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #1
    Hi gang,

    I've been trying to install a pair of 1gig sticks into my PowerMac G5 all afternoon.

    I unplugged every thing from the tower, removed the air circulator, and the fan assembly.

    Installed the RAM and made sure it was firmly in place (until i heard it snap into the holders).

    Put the Fan Assembly back in the system, and the air circulator and tried to boot her up.

    It Starts up but nothing shows up on the screen, but the computer is running.

    Any Ideas? Help ASAP would be GREATLY appreciated.

    By the way: The RAM is from macsales.com
     
  2. beatle888 macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #2
    what the?

    i cant believe you had to remove the fan assembly.



    anyway, im sure you tried to reseat the ram? you should give it a shot.
     
  3. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #3
    Yea, you have to take the fan assembly out to fully install the RAM.

    How do I reset the ram/
     
  4. beatle888 macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #4
    oh sorry to confuse.

    i meant reinstall the ram. take it out and reseat it (unplug the ram then plug them back in, you might be pleasently surprised).
     
  5. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #5
    did tht, still nothing. just took the new ram out and left the stock ram in and it still wont boot.

    on thephone w/ apple now
     
  6. beatle888 macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #6


    ouch. maybe zapping the Pram?
     
  7. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
  8. beatle888 macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #8
    zap the Pram or wait for more MacRumors members to help. dont listen to them. their so limited with knowledge unless your case# is escalated to a more advanced representative.

    try searching google and definitely try zapping Pram.
     
  9. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #9
    Well He Was Chatting with a Product Specialist, and said "Service is the only Option".

    Tried Resetting the Pram and that didn't work.

    Should I bring it to my Apple Store and have them take a look?

    When I first turn it on no light comes on then after about 5-10 seconds the white light flashes twice about every 5 seconds until i power the machine down.
     
  10. beatle888 macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
  11. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
  12. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
  13. StokeLee macrumors 6502

    StokeLee

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent. Midlands, UK
    #13
    Is there something on the Apple website that tells you what the flashing means? Like on a pc when it beeps at ya saying BEEP BEEP BEEEEEP BEEP BEEP BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP (roughly translated - im broke - buy a mac there so much better)
     
  14. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #14
    I just was browsing through other forums, and they say that the flashing light indicates major hardware failure.
     
  15. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #15
    Apple Stores in Massachusetts won't have there Genius Bars open due to the Tax Free Weekend here. ugh.. Cambridgeside isn't resuming genius bar service until Tuesday. :confused:

    It's gunna be a long weekend, until I get some answers on what's wrong w/ my baby.
     
  16. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #16
    She Works Again!!! Thank GOD!!!

    I went to the Apple Store tonight, and for the hell of it I bought there RAM to throw into the machine. and that did the trick.

    I guess the RAM from macsales is faulty.

    But I'm just glad that my baby is working again, and I didn't have to send it in for a logic board replacement!

    Just wanted to give ya'll an update!
     
  17. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #17
    I don't understand :confused:

    It didn't work with the stock RAM and it suddenly works with there RAM?
    hmm...
     
  18. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #18
    I'm sorry to hear you had trouble, but I've never had any problems with OWC RAM.

    Of course you do have to make very sure that you're ordering the "right" RAM sticks for your system.

    OWC sells several brands of RAM.
    Which one did you buy? Specs?

    They sell OWC RAM and SAMSUNG RAM and a few others.

    I hope your AppleStore genius didn't pull a fast one.

    Apple RAM is insanely overpriced.

    It takes REALLY FIRM PRESSURE to get RAM to seat properly in the PowerMacs and it only fits one way, so it's pretty hard to screw up.
    Even so, with all my experience, I had to re-install my cards the first time
    because the keeper clips had not closed all the way.

    When I've had to manually start my G5, I have to hold the start button down for a few seconds, then the light stays on.

    Anyhoo,

    Glad you're back up and running.
     
  19. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #19
    I installed the stock RAM and there RAM, and now everything is working again.
     
  20. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #20
    Would it Matter if I ordered the RAM that said (8 DIMM Slots) I looked and my PowerMac only has 4.
     
  21. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #21
    You have the prosumer 4 RAM slot motherboard and it does make a difference.
     
  22. steeveage macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Location:
    Redwood City, CA
    #22
    Had a similar problem on my 1.5 GHz PB rev C

    I had a similar problem on my 1.5 GHz PB rev C. I had 1 GB OWC RAM in the 2nd DIMM slot and stock 512 MB RAM in the 1st DIMM slot. When I installed Tiger, my Powerbook stopped working -- sometimes it would have to be hard rebooted 20+ times before it would come up once. I swapped the order of the RAM (OWC RAM in the 1st DIMM slot) and it has worked flawlessly since. Go fig.
     
  23. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #23
    4-socket vs 8-socket makes a difference in the RAM modules that will work? How?
     
  24. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #24
    Not exactly sure honestly, looking at OWC to check if there's any difference in the part numbers.

    O.K. OWC 2 GB upgrade in 1 GB pairs does have the same part number, so i guess you're right. OWC3200DDR2GBP $249.00

    They also offer Techworks in a 2 GB upgrade 1 GB paired for the Rev B towers.
    TWK12565PAIR

    And then Samsung " FACTORY ORIGINAL MODULES"
    1 GB MUST BE PURCHASED IN PAIRS OWC3200DDRSAM1G $143.99 EACH.

    So which ones did your buy?
     
  25. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #25
    Glad it's all working again, it's horrible to hear stories like this, especially when it relates to those gorgeous PowerMacs.

    Just a heads-up though:

    there RAM = caveman speak for "look, there is some RAM"
    their RAM = RAM belonging to them
    they're RAM = They are RAM

    This is one of my little bugbears, please make sure you use the correct word.
     

Share This Page