Need more than 3 wired ethernet on new Airport Express

Discussion in 'Mac Peripherals' started by newmacuser13, Feb 1, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #1
    The new airport express has only 3 wired ethernet connections. I was going to get one, but I already have four wired devices (mac mini, NAS, Networked laserprinter, and another computer). Can I attach a simple linksys switch to one of the ethernet jacks to increase my available number of connections?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    mowogg

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    San Gabriel, CA
    #2
    Airport to Hub

    Shouldn't be a problem. I have an Airport Extreme basestation (round) and I have it hooked up to a 4-port hub. Everything works perfectly.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #3
    Yup. I got a Netgear 5-port Gigabit switch for my Mac Pro and a networked RAID array, so I can get extra speed, without having to replace my Linksys. But it looks like I might replace the Linksys with the 802.11n Apple router, and just leave the gigabit switch in place.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #4
    You could get rid of the NAS since the new AE can do that functionality itself, and/or if the networked laser printer has USB, plug that into the new AE and let it handle the sharing.
     
  5. SMM
    macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #5
    So, where are you getting your DHCP services from?
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #6
    As long as the Nas and Mac are set to static IP's the switch has no need to pass the data from the nas to the router to the system, it will just go from the nas to they system at "1gb speed". The only stuff hitting the router will be web requests and such from the mac, and once they hit your cable or dsl modem they will only be going <10mb anyway.
     

Share This Page