Need More USB 2.0 (Hub question)

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by iBunny, Feb 16, 2006.

  1. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #1
    Well, I bought an iMac 20' Core duo today. Its currently on its way. I have too many USB devices and this thing's only issue, is that their are not enough USB ports on it.

    I need a good USB 2.0 Hub or something. Anything anyone can recommend?
     
  2. LastLine macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #2
    I'll ditto that.

    Normally I'd suggest a belkin, but they just don't make anything 'pretty' enough to go with the iMac's. So can anyone suggest a pretty one too?
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    I have a little Kensington 4-port USB 2.0 hub that's brushed aluminum, small, and thin. It's worked well for me for over a year on my dual-2.0 PM. No problems. Bought it at the Apple Store in late 2004, I think.

    Edit: they've made it smaller. Here is the most recent version of it.
     
  4. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
  5. mvelinder macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #5
    The one I bought from my retail Apple store I didn't even end up using... way too ugly and way too many cords...
     
  6. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #6
    I really like this one from ADS which is available at Circuit City. It not only has 4 USB 2.0 ports but also handles FireWire and gives you 3 more FireWire ports.
     
  7. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #7
    I use this little hub with my iMac, and it's served me pretty well. I like it 'cause it lets me plug my shuffle in on top, and the white matches the iMac. Only has three other USB ports other than the one on top (Four total), but if you don't need too many extra ports, it's compact, and works well.

    http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=198333
     
  8. LastLine macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #8
    Y'know I've looked at that one (thinking for my thumb drives on top rrather than shuffles but same difference) - are the ports powered or not? That was one thing I couldn't find on it.
     
  9. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #9

    Yes. I just bought one (without checkin the threads). It comes with a power adapter to power it. The package claims it can support up to two unpowered devices (I assume that's without power adapter).

    BTW, while the white looks good, it doesn't quite match my G4 iMac, and wouldn't problably match a G5/intel imac. It's close, but not quite right. Not a problem for me, but just a note.
     
  10. LastLine macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #10
    Yeah I got mine a bit back now, but it works a treat :)
     
  11. irock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    #11
  12. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #12
    Actually the belkin hub is quite nice & cute (IMHO). click stacks too.
     
  13. Obsidian6 macrumors 6502a

    Obsidian6

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    #13
    i have a belkin 4 port economy hub its black, its ugly, it has little lights telling me whats connected and whats not. and it works absolutely perfect :)
    http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProd...Id=&Section_Id=1998&pcount=&Product_Id=123917

    i couldnt find one that was cheap and good and pretty looking. ( choose 2 ) i would like to get the belkin firewire hub as well, but thats not AS important.

    i sure do like that ministack thing. thats really really cool

    edit: that belkin tunesync is awesome!! if i get my 5th gen ipod soon ( waiting on the seller ) i would totally replace ( or add to ) my existing hub with one of those. i could just daisy chain it :)
     
  14. Dopeyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
    #14
    I also had that problem with my 20"MacTel.... So I went out and purchased this one...

    It comes with screws so that you can mount it on the wall and also desk mountable....

    But I just dropped it in the back of my desk since I'm not gonna be unplugging anything... I'll just pull it back up IF I gotta connect anything else...
     
  15. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #15
  16. MustardMan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    #16

    Attached Files:

Share This Page