Need new Mac, need monitor advice

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by desertmules, Feb 20, 2005.

1. desertmules macrumors newbie

Hi (new poster),

Just found this list while doing some research with an eye to purchasing new computer and monitor. This computer will be used for my office and in my spare time will use it for photo work. Am taking a college course in digital photography and need to select a monitor suitable for that type of work as well as something suitable for various documents, billing, etc. We have been using Photoshop CS at the school and that is probably what I will wind up using on the new machine. We rarely use our machines for games. I've been using the computer I am on at present since 1998, PM G3 with a Sony Trinitron Multiscan 200ES monitor and have to say this has been a great computer. Have had few problems with it but am still running 9.2. My husband has an ibook with small screen and have been using it to accustom myself to 10.1. Now that I am becoming familar with OS 10 I really like it and would like to upgrade to a Power Mac G5 because that makes better sense some how than trying to zip up the G3.

I need to do some careful shopping because my budget for this purchase is limited ($2000 - $2500) What I am considering is 1.8 GHz G5 with extra RAM and a new monitor. The monitor is where I am having the main problem...the choices are bewildering so I thought I would ask what people here are happy with and which ones might be best for my situation.

This is slightly off the subject but want to ask this question as well. We had some kind of crummy pc at the office that my boss purchased a few years back, it finally went belly up and I did the happy dance! It does have a Epson 1100 laser printer that I am curious if I can hook up to a Mac some how, does anyone have any suggestions? I have been using Macs for a while but I just use 'em not that tech savvy.

Thanks for any possible assistance.

Roberta