Need quick help GTX Video card

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by canadaman001, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    #1
    Hi guys i finally decide to buy gtx pc card for my mac pro 2009 4.1 which i will pick up tomorrow morning but i need quick answer please.

    I am buying EVGA GTX 570 for 150 each my question is can any gtx 570 work in my mac what i mean is evga only one that works since there are multiple companies that make the same card but different look or am i wrong here. Or just go with evga manufacturer. I have 2 power cables for gtx for my mac can i sli 2 of them in my mac. I also have the option between 580 and 590 but only one. If i just go with 590 for 300 will there be much improvement or go with 2 570. And i am using this card for Davinchi resolve program and adobe premiere

    Thanks

    Here are the links to card 590 http://ontario.kijiji.ca/c-buy-and-...90-Graphic-Card-s-for-sale-W0QQAdIdZ440167493

    580- http://ontario.kijiji.ca/c-buy-and-...lling-Multiple-Video-Cards-W0QQAdIdZ465054011
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #2
    As far as I can recall, any 570 will work.
    Be aware of the powerissues with 580/590.
    SLI is Windows only.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #3
    If you are buying two 580s, you WILL need an external power supply.

    There are two 6-pin power leads from the PCI bay and 580s will need two EACH assuming you find ones that don't require any 8-pin power leads. If you try to connect two 580s by using splitters, you had better hope the over-current protection in your Mac Pro works first time else you have a dead computer.

    There are some threads about using two 580s on a Mac Pro and they will all detail the power supply that they purchased and fitted.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #4
    Any GTX570 should work. However they require two power cables each & there are only two power sockets on the motherboard for a graphics card. I am not sure whether it is physically possible to tap off power from another source e.g. spare disk slot or whether you need a whole extra power supply but two GTX570s have a greater number of CUDA (2x480) cores than a GTX580 (512) so should give better performance in DaVinci Resolve.

    Hard core colour graders use a Cubix PCIe expander box with several GTX580s for maximum performance but I am sure you already knew that.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    #5
    thanks

    Thanks guys for help. I am buying today one gtx evga 570. 1.5 gb i all ready have radeaon 5770 pc with power cable connected to it and gtx 55ti with power cable connected to it and it works fine. So if i take gtx 550ti out and put in gtx570 i will not fry my mac? and should i keep 55ti and take out 5770?

    Thanks again guy
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #6
    The GTX570 requires two power cables. If your current setup is two graphics cards each with a power cable then where does the third power cable come from you will need to power the GTX 550ti if you keep it in the Mac Pro?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    #7
    Thanks

    question guys and thanks for help again. Since gtx needs 2 power cable can i keep 5770 take out 550ti put in gtc470 and get decent power coming from my dvd drive since i dont us it at all.

    and one last question just to make sure any gtx 470 like evga,pny will work here it does not have to be strictly evga
    you guys are awesome with help
     

Share This Page