Need some advice on upgrading a Sawtooth CPU...

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by PoohBear120, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #1
    So, I was looking around for a cheap upgrade CPU for a Sawtooth. I noticed that on Ebay there are many processors from later G4 models that are fairly cheap. After doing some searching, I realized that there seems to be a problem with the differences in bus speeds (Mine is 100 Mhz, Later models are 133 Mhz). Would this be a major issue in installing a CPU from a MDD or Quicksilver? If so, what can I do to fix it?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    As far as I know, the MDD processors won't fit into a Sawtooth (they have separate upgrade processors as well). The Quicksilver processors may work fine, but you may just want to buy an aftermarket processor that you know will work.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    #3
    Nopey dopey :)

    Sawthooths have a ZIF-drop in cpu w/ a 100mhz bus, the Digital Audio & later models have a totally different, socketed cpu @133mhz or higher.

    I used the DP/500 cpu card from a Gigabit Ethernet as a direct replacement for my old Sawtooth's SP/450 notta problemo....
     
  4. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #4
    i have a 500mhz DP sawtooth that i will be sellin for parts soon, as soon as i get my memory for my MDD. i have the same name on ebay so be sure to look for it and save me. i've been selling quite a few g4 parts already.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    No, sir, you are incorrect. Only the Yikes! had a zif, the Sawtooth and above all had daughtercards (Yikes!=ZIF and PCI graphics, Sawtooth=daughtercard and AGP graphics). The Sawtooth is, however, a 100mHz bus machine, so I don't think anything above that will work without some motherboard mods (which I think are possible). I could be wrong on that, though.

    But going back to my original point, by the time you sort all that out, it's probably just cheaper to pick up an aftermarket upgrade (which are generally designed to operate on bus speeds at either 100 or 133mHz). I've seen the 1.0gHz upgrades go for under $75 on ebay.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #6
    Overclock it. I just clocked my PM400 to 450mhz today and the difference under Tiger is noticeable. It took 10 minutes, the only tools needed are a phillips screwdriver and a soldering iron and it's FREE.

    http://power-mac-g4.com/g4clockup.html
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    #7

    Yep, my bad :p........I was thinkin of my beloved smurfbox at first..........but, you're right, the bus speed does limit the swap possibilities, but aftermarket upgrade cards are plentiful 4 sure :)
     
  8. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #8
    thanks for that link, i'll be sure to try that to 500dp soon:D
     

Share This Page