NEED SOME HELP!! ASAP!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by macartistkel, Aug 7, 2005.

  1. macartistkel macrumors 6502a

    macartistkel

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #1
    I have a friend who just sent me this email because I use macs, however, I am not very technical when it comes to networking, etc. So I will appreciate anyone who can help out with his problem. Here is the email he sent me:

    I need some serious Mac help. I have the PC-type
    router hooked up to a cable modem, which works fine sending info to
    windows-based computers, but not for Macs. Amanda's computer (iMac 333
    Mhz) is too far away from the router to hardwire a connection to it so I
    need to use a network adapter to receive a network connection from the
    router. Her computer doesn't have a wifi card or any wireless type card.
    I purchased an Airport Express card thinking I could somehow have it
    accept connections from the router and then run an ethernet cable from
    the Airport Express directly into the iMac. So far no luck on that.
    Can the AirPort Express accept connections or is it made only to send?
    I've tried a few of the typical wal-mart brand network adapters but none
    of them work on Macs. I'm not for sure if any of this made sense, but
    if it did, then what do you think I need to purcase to get her wired?
     
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #2
    what in the what now? an airport express card????

    do you mean airport extreme card or airport express station?

    I thought those iMacs could only use the original airport card for wireless anyways

    and btw, DON'T USE ALL CAPITALS IN YOUR THREAD TITLE IT IS ANNOYING
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    If it's an Express, then yes, you should be able to connect to your current wireless network (assuming you have one) with it through WDS (assuming your wireless network router is compatible). And then you should be able to hardwire your Express to the iMac. :)
     
  4. macartistkel thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macartistkel

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #4
    Sorry about the caps!! I will not do that anymore. Yes his email was very confusing to me because I don't get why a LONG ethernet cable will not work, but he said it doesn't. I also thought any router would work on both mac or pcs?? I don't know what to say.
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    I haven't found a router that doesn't work on both systems.

    Also, this Express option is perhaps the most convoluted and expensive route (excuse the pun :p ). I'd really try the ethernet set up if possible.
     
  6. macartistkel thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macartistkel

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #6
    oh thanks mad jew!! Although I never heard anything about a wireless network in that email but since he bought an airport extreme card then I assume so!
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    An AirPort Express card will not work in the iMac though. It won't even fit in the slot. A regular AirPort card will but these are out of production and therefore hard to find/expensive but still cheaper than getting an AirPort Express, which is an entire wireless base-station/router.
     
  8. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #8
    Duff-Man says....thanks...and also, please use something descriptive when naming a new thread...generic things like "help" are not very helpful... :) ....oh yeah!
     
  9. macartistkel thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macartistkel

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #9
    Thanks again for the advice about the threads...my bad, I'm a newbie!! :)
     
  10. runplaysleeprun macrumors 6502a

    runplaysleeprun

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #10
    in response to the post he made here : http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=142569
    Yes, his "Frankenstein should work, assuming his router is WDS compatable. This is taken from apples website:
     

Share This Page