Need some help with Parallels, mainly AutoCad

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Stoodlico, Jul 7, 2006.

  1. Stoodlico macrumors newbie

    Jun 26, 2006
    I'm just trying out parallels and am runnning AutoCad and am having a small problem. When I move the mouse onto the drawing space, rather than the arrow disappearing and being replaced with the drawing crosshairs, the crosshairs appear but the mouse arrow remains visible over the top of them. Does anyone know of a way to make the mouse arrow disappear? I asked the support team at Parallels but received no answer.

    Thanks :)
  2. domokun macrumors newbie


    Dec 21, 2003
    Santa Barbara
    Same problem...

    I am running parallels with windows xp and it was not until i installed the enhanced tools that i started to notice this problem of the cursor following the crosshairs. After i installed the tools i definetly noticed an increase in the graphics but one side affect was the cursor now followed the crosshairs.
    Does anyone have any suggestions?
  3. marcmec macrumors newbie

    Sep 15, 2006
    Acad cursor

    I too have had this problem. I uninstalled the mouse sync tool and it solved the problem, but the herky jerky movement of the mouse was even more annoying than having the arrow in AutoCAD. My solution was to create a new cursor that simply overlays the AutoCAD crosshair. It's pretty cool. Email me and I will send you a copy of the cursor. It works great.
  4. Kizmokd macrumors newbie

    Sep 18, 2006
    Northern Virginia
    AutoCAD performance under Parallels?

    Other than the cursor issue, have there been any other issues to running AutoCAD under Parallels? Can any of you give some feedback as to performance? Do you use AutoCAD for production via Parallels? Any issues getting plotter drivers to work well?

    Thanks for reply.
  5. domokun macrumors newbie


    Dec 21, 2003
    Santa Barbara
    AutoCad Performance in Parallels...

    I am running a mac mini - with 2 gigs of ram, and have had no problems running autocad. I also have an iMac in my office that has a better video card and the same memory and it is about the same... if i had to give it a grade it would be around a "B" to a "B+"

    I have not had any problems with the printing either. We have an HP 1050c and it works fine.

    Make sure you have updated to the latest version of Parallels and you have installed the "Parallels tools" after you upgrade.

  6. LvNgLegeNd macrumors newbie

    Aug 2, 2006
    AutoCAD issue

    I read on a a different mac forum that someone had an issue w/ AutoCAD under BootCamp. Apparentaly, Windows under BootCamp wouldn't let them run a "copy" of AutoCAD {you know, a burnt version of AutoCAD, not the true thousand dollar disc } b/c of an issue w/ the motherboard. Out of curiosity, I was wondering, of the people using AutoCAD w/ BootCamp, if they use a real version or a copy of AutoCAD?

  7. daveporter macrumors regular

    Sep 8, 2006
    Green Cove Springs, FL
    I'm running a "real" (licensed) copy of AutoCAD 2000 in WindowsXP on my Mac Pro with BootCamp. It is the fastest AutoCAD machine that I have ever worked on. Very, very fast and runs perfectly.

    AutoCAD is the only reason that I run dual-boot with OSX. If AutoCAD was available on the Mac that would be the end of Windows here.

  8. iKwick7 macrumors 65816


    Dec 29, 2004
    The Wood of Spots, NJ
    I hear that.
    So how is AutoCad in PARRALLELS? I only do basic 2d in AutoCad, so I don't think there would be a problem. I do all my 3d in SketchUp (LOVE that program!).
  9. flak macrumors newbie

    Oct 19, 2006
    same problem already solved...

    I had the same problem with AutoCAD and Parallels... I actually changed to BootCamp for a while...

    This is what you need to do...

    In Windows: go to de display properties... select the Settings tab and press the Advanced button...

    In the new window... go to the Troubleshoot tab... in the Hardware Accelerator control select one less than full... no more cursor plobems...

    Note: I'm doing great with AutoCAD and Paralles (hate it when I had to reboot), but I only work with 2D stuff... I'd love to hear about 3D experiences.

    Good luck
  10. ddekker macrumors regular

    Sep 23, 2006

    didn't google buy sketchup? I work with a designer that uses sketchup (wish he would learn rhino or I would think that any of those strange cursor problems are video driver problems, I use a upper end 3D cad system on a PC for a living, and getting a video card/driver combo that is flawless is always the trick... (Pro Engineer)


Share This Page