Need suggestions on what Mac(s) to buy. iMac/iBook or PB/CinDisp

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by BrandonSi, Oct 18, 2005.

1. BrandonSi macrumors regular

Oct 13, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    Ok, a quick background. I'd like the Mac to do school and photoshop work. I'm an ameteur photographer but I do sell my work to people and galleries, so I do use photoshop quite a bit for upsampling, printing prep and sometimes major photo editing. I may want to play a game at some point but I am *far* from a "gamer." I also currently use a slow 900mhz AMD 1.5GB ram for this, so I'm used to some waiting. Here is what I'm considering, assuming nothing drastic changes after tomorrow (10/19).

Option 1 (edu discounts)
    12" PB - 1.5Ghz - 768mb - 80gb - Superdrive - $1512
    20" Cinema display. - $699

Option 2
    Refurb 20" iMac G5 - 2Ghz - 512mb - 250gb - Superdrive - $1299
    512mb from Crucial to get to 1GB Ram - $66
    Refurb - 12" iBook - 1.2Ghz - 256mb - 30gb - Combo - $750

Option 1 is about $100 more. I really would like a new(er) laptop to replace my aging Dell for photography in the field, as well as school work etc.

Do you think the 12" PB would suffice for medium to heavy photoshop work? Obviously it'd be faster than what I have now. Are the 20" Cinema Displays comparable to the displays on the iMac? What would you do if you were in my shoes?!

2. Jay42 macrumors 65816

Jul 14, 2005