Need to block another user from accessing wifi

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by spit, Dec 14, 2010.

  1. spit, Dec 14, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Vegas, baby
    #1
    I have a problem...
    Lets say i have 3 users in Mac OS and i need to block wifi on 2 of them.
    So if my mac is used at home/near free wifi only the main user would be able to connect and for other two wifi would be disabled. (still i should be able to use iphone tethering from them)

    I know its kind of weird request..but ive got my reasons...


    Thank You,

    Best Regards



    UPD
    Thanks everyone, but let me give you more details on my issue.

    1)Im the only one using this MAC.
    2)Im ebay seller with multiple acc's.
    3)In order to use few acc's on 1 computer - i need to access it from different IPs and have cookies separated.
    4)My primary acc is using homes wifi network with static ip, other acc's will use Iphone tethering with dynamic IP.

    So basically what im trying to do is to eliminate the chance of logging into my account using same (wifi) network. Of course i can disable wifi everytime i change mac-account to secondary, but there is always 0.01% to forget that once and mess everything up.


    The problem is when i just delete airport from network settings panel it apply's this change to every macbook account, instead of changing it in the one i'm logged in. Otherwise my problem would be solved.
     
  2. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Password-protect your network and don't tell the other two users the password...?
     
  3. Mal
    macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #3
    Yep, and then make sure it's set not to store the password, and then in System Preferences -> Network -> Airport -> Advanced, check the box that says "Disconnect when logging out".

    Now if you log out for them to log in, it will drop the connection, and they will have to enter the password to get on.

    jW
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #4
    you can also restrict wireless by mac address.
    If you have a lot of devices it can take some time.
    I had someone accessing my wifi usually from 5pm to midnight.
    Leaving the network open I captured the mac address, added it to the access list then blocked access.
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    The OP has one device, wirelessly connecting to a router, thus only one MAC address. The OP seems to have three accounts on that device, and only one account should be able to connect to the W-LAN, the other two should not.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    fortunecookie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    #6
    What kind of router are you using? Bramd and model?
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #7
    ah yes,
    Perhaps the apple airport extreme.
    since it has two networks, home and guest you can make home for wired and guest for wireless.
    With the wireless (guest)set it up set it up for 1 dynamic IP with an extremely short lease period.
    This way if Mac1 signs on the other 2 would be blocked, if Mac 2 signs on Mac 1 and 3 would be blocked. if mace 3 signs on then mac 1 and 2 would be blocked.
    For the home network just make sure you turn off wireless.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Vegas, baby
    #8
    Thanks everyone, but let me give you more details on my issue.

    1)Im the only one using this MAC.
    2)Im ebay seller with multiple acc's.
    3)In order to use few acc's on 1 computer - i need to access it from different IPs and have cookies separated.
    4)My primary acc is using homes wifi network with static ip, other acc's will use Iphone tethering with dynamic IP.

    So basically what im trying to do is to eliminate the chance of logging into my account using same (wifi) network. Of course i can disable wifi everytime i change mac-account to secondary, but there is always 0.01% to forget that once and mess everything up.

    My router is Linksys WRT160N.

    The problem is when i just delete airport from network settings panel it apply's this change to every macbook account, instead of changing it in the one i'm logged in. Otherwise my problem would be solved.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    I hope I'm wrong, and I hope you'll forgive me if I am, but it sounds like you are trying to log into ebay as a different user and bid people up. Like I say, I hope that's not the issue, but I don't know why else you'd want to log in as different accounts from different ip's except to get around ebay's attempts to thwart that.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Vegas, baby
    #10
    Fortunately You are wrong...I do this to have more seller accounts to have bigger chance of selling something. And because there are limits to sell lets say 10 items per month for new sellers..by having 10 acct's i can sell 100 items and be within limit.
    You can read about that on aspkin.com ebay forum)
     
  11. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #11
    So you're still trying to break the ebay rules. meh
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Vegas, baby
    #12
    You should read ebay rules again, its not blocking use of multiple accounts. I just choose to do it from different IPs.
    And please lets not start talking about what and why im doing, its not like i asked how to brake Pentagons firewall)) nothing illegal, just small tricks to be save and running...other words id rather fly under radar..
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    fair enough. Kind of like something the guy said in Real Genius, they made the rules, enter as often as you like, no purchase necessary...or something to that effect.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Vegas, baby
    #14
    :D yeah, something like that)))

    It's just sometimes weird dealing with those guys like ebay or amazon...
    They make it seem like their on your side and trying to let you have some business...but eventually (thats said, especially when You are honest seller as I am) they will start throwing You in all those limits/verifications or w/e just because You were logged in within same IP (sometimes evem in public place like starbucks), laptop as someone and hold You (and them) from getting income and selling...anyways thats offtopic, just FYI
     
  15. Mal
    macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #15
    You do realize if you just follow the steps I outlined, you can achieve exactly what you're looking for. I spelled it all out a number of posts ago.

    jW
     
  16. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #16
    I don't know... I have had two ebay accounts since the 90's.

    I use one to buy and one to sell, mainly and have never had a problem with eBay. The only problem I had was, once, I was bidding on something and I bid against myself! I forgot to log out of my one account!

    I don't think IP address means anything unless you are bidding on your own items.
     

Share This Page