need to know how to run ECLIPSE and java on intel mac

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by mac000, Oct 6, 2006.

  1. mac000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #1
    I've downloaded eclipse for mac, but I cannot get any of my programs to run properly. I suspect i need some other program to go along with eclipse bc i've compied programs out of my text book so it is not a compiler error.

    I am totally new to programming but I need to compile and run programs for a class at my University.

    Can someone please tell me what all I need to have a ECLIPSE/JAVA enviornment run properly on OS X?

    Once again, i have only downloaded Eclipse and it is verion 3.2.1

    THank you!
     
  2. mrichmon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #2
    Have you installed Apple's Developer Tools? These come on your OS X install disk but a more recent version is available from the Apple web site. The download is a few hundred MB so you will want a fast connection before you download.

    Developer Tools installs the Java SDK so if you do not have it installed you will have problems using Eclipse.
     
  3. mac000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #3
    ok, so when i put in my DISC 1, i have a few options. When you say developer tools, do i want to install

    1) XCODE TOOLS ~ PACKAGES ~ DEVELOPER TOOLS.PKG?

    or

    2) XCODE TOOLS ~ XCODETOOLS.MPKG?

    or

    3) something different?

    thanks people!
     
  4. mrichmon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #4
    On Disk 1 of the MacBook OS X install disk there is an "Xcode Tools" folder. Inside this folder is "XcodeTools.mpkg". Run this installer. Then restart Eclipse (you might need to create a new Eclipse workspace for Eclipse to correctly find your newly installed Java SDK.
     
  5. mac000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #5

    i'll give it a try, thanks a lot
     
  6. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #6
    Don't think it matters, I've got Eclipse running and I never installed Apple's Developer Tools.
     
  7. Heath macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    You must have installed Java manually then. That's the missing piece for Eclipse. Installing the Apple developer tools is usually the easiest way to do that.
     

Share This Page