Needed: Apple laserwriter 8500 service manual

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by macEfan, Jul 15, 2006.

1. macEfan macrumors 65816

macEfan

Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
  2. RacerX macrumors 65832

It would appear that Apple is shutting down sites that supply service manuals. I'm not too surprised at this as the service manuals have always been something that Apple charged people for (as a posed to sites that redistribute information that Apple supplied to the public for free).

Odds are that there are mirrors of that manual out and about on the web, but odds are you won't find it on any US based servers.

I didn't mind paying Apple because I service systems for a living, and it never bothered me that there were copies that people could get for free because I figured those people needed them for their own equipment. From what I can tell, there were people who viewed this differently and reported these sites to Apple.

Sorry. :(

3. macEfan thread starter macrumors 65816

macEfan

so where is apple selling them?

I only see them on ebay, and I KNOW those on ebay are just people trying to steal the manuals and re-sell them..

4. RacerX macrumors 65832

There available through Apple's Service Source Program... which requires going through the technician training program.

As for why these sites are being shut down, posting these materials online goes directly against the Service Source agreement...
    Service Source Online Terms and Conditions
    1. Use of Information