Neo????

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by mattpol, Jun 20, 2002.

1. mattpol macrumors regular

I'm brand new to Mac OS X and the P2P program Neo.

Can anyone tell me how to work Neo?

Thanks!!!

2. MacAztec macrumors 68040

MacAztec

Neo

Download neo. Do as it says.

Go back to the neo mainpage and download the neo started kit. Follow the instructions, and neo is like a search program if you do it right....

3. King Cobra macrumors 603

First of all, I am assuming you found it on versiontracker.com (if not, that's where I got it). You should have the application and the starter kit on your computer.

Second, once you have downloaded both, install the Starter Kit folder where it needs to be located (there should be a short Read Me file with the package).

Third, open Neo and you are off.

Currently, I am new to Neo, as I have used Limewire for about a year now, and I plan to continue using it. But let me try and see what I can do.

When you start up, make sure that you have two windows: the regular search/results window and the hosts window. Once the number of hosts gets up there (say, around 50 to 100 minimum) start searching for files. You can either browse hosts, or you can be more specific and manually input your query.

Again, I am new to this, so I need to figure out some of the material a little more as well. The best of luck. :cool:

4. cb911 macrumors 601

cb911

i'm curious about Neo. i've been using LimeWire a bit and it sucks. it is so slow, and doesn't return many results in the searches. on my PC i've got Kazaa and it is awesome. i was just wondering how people are finding Neo? are you satisfied with it?

and is there a Kazaa for the Mac, so you can get directly on the Kazaa network?

5. irmongoose macrumors 68030

irmongoose

No there is no Kazaa client for Mac other than Neo, which is actually a "shadow" client. This basically means it seaches for the IPs, indexes the files, and records them to your hard drive.

irmongoose