NES Emulator for macs?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by proverbs, Jul 31, 2005.

  1. proverbs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #1
    i used to have a nes emulator for my PC so i could play old skool games like mike tyson's punch out and excite bike. i was hoping they had this for mac also? if so, can anyone hook it up?
     
  2. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #2
    I tried Nestopia but its a little poo. to be honest all the emulators I've tried for OS X have been sub-par. which is why i run emulators off my Xbox instead :)
     
  3. sluthy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Location:
    Bundaberg, Qld. Australia
    #3
  4. joechops macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Location:
    Searcy, AR
    #4
  5. proverbs thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #5
    thanks. nestopia works much smoother than RockNes.
     
  6. xxx420 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    #6
    How to use nestopia

    I have downloaded nestopia and am eager to play oldschool games but i do not know which application to use to run it. if anyone can tell me what to do it would be great.:confused: :confused:
     
  7. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #7

    Nestopia is the app.... you use nestopia to play the rom files
     
  8. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    Is Nestopia anything like sixtyforce? Do I need to get ROMs for it? And if so, how?
     
  9. xxx420 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    #9
    Nestopia Help

    Well when I click on the nestopia program nothing but a list of the things on my hard drive comes up and it asks me to choose what to open nestopia with. What is the next step to playing the games? When I had my PC i downloaded a emulator and it would open when clicked on, and from in the program window i could load the roms. Do i need to download the roms and click on them when it asks me what to open with nestopia? I am pretty confused on the steps needed to start playing the games.:( :confused: :mad:
     
  10. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #10
    Yes.
     
  11. reh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #11
    You can also just double-click the ROM file to launch Nestopia and load that ROM.
     
  12. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    I have searched, but I can't find any reliable places to download ROMs. Can anyone tell me a good place to acquire them? I am mostly just looking to play Super Mario Bros. 1, 2, and 3.

    EDIT: Post 1000!!!
     
  13. Foxglove9 macrumors 65816

    Foxglove9

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #13
    Asking for roms is usually not allowed on forums and generally illegal in general unless you actually own the carts themselves. In which that case you should dump the rom on your own.

    However, in your situation I would say you best bet is to just keep googling for them. Or use a P2P setup.

     
  14. Foxglove9 macrumors 65816

    Foxglove9

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #14
    I was told Xbox didn't run most emulators at 100%. Is this true? Because I purposely did not buy one all this time because people have told me SNES and Mega Drive games don't run at full speed.

    I used to use my mac for all my emulation. But now I just use it for NES, SNES and Sega stuff I want to play. It's true the macs have fallen far behind to PC's when it comes to emulation.

    Which is why I own a PC, mainly to power my MAME arcade cabinet.

     

Share This Page