Net Security: How do I secure my Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Darby, Feb 9, 2003.

1. Darby macrumors newbie

Jan 30, 2003
    Orange County, CA

I am a novice. So, please forgive my naive questions :)

After reading the "Apple Rumor Casualty" thread, I can't help but wonder what steps I can take to make my mac secure?

If I have a website, how do I keep the files, etc secure?

I'm unsure how I go about preventing any private info I have on my computer from being accessed when I am online???

What do you do to secure your computer/website/etc.?

Thank-you in advance,
    Darby :)
  2. FattyMembrane macrumors 6502a

Apr 14, 2002
    bat country
    if you're running 10.2, there is a built in firewall in the "sharing" pane of the system preferences. all you have to do is turn it on and you should be set. if you are using the personal web-sharing on your computer, people will only be able to access your webpage, not other files on your computer. the guy in the news article was sharing other files of which he was unaware, but you have to have set them to shared status at sometime, so as long as you are only using the webserver and firewalling everything else, you will be fine.
  3. oldMac macrumors 6502a

Oct 25, 2001
    Re: Net Security: How do I secure my Mac?

Security 101...

Firstly, Apple has done an excellent job of setting up the defaults of Mac OS X in a secure way. 90% of the time, you can just use it and feel pretty secure. That being said, it's easy to make changes that make your Mac less secure by changing defaults and/or installing 3rd-party software. The following steps can help protect you from these and other security issues that may arise in the future.

There are two things that you're probably trying to address here:

1) How do I protect my machine from unintended access?
    2) How do I ensure that I don't accidentally expose documents or other machine access if I have a web site?

STEP #1: First line of defense...