Netgear DG834G Wireless modem/router - AHHH

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mmjosh1010, Nov 30, 2006.

  1. mmjosh1010 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Location:
    Devon, United Kingdom
    #1
    Hi, I've just got my Mac book pro and have been trying to setup the wireless internet on it. I have my Netgear DG834G working fine on my pc, it's connected to my AOL account and the internet is working fine, but then when i go to connect to the network on my mac it just says 'error connecting please try again'

    could anyone help me out with this one as aol don't give support on wireless issues with macs. I've tryed everything with the settings...:mad:

    THANKS IN ADVANCED!!

    Josh

    (Im in the UK if that makes any difference):)
     
  2. grum macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    #2
    Ah bugger I am waiting on a Macbook and I have the same router - hope you get it sorted sorry i cant be of any assistance
     
  3. wildmac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    #3
    first, try the macbook connected directly to the router via ethernet.

    Is your PC working wirelessly?... or is it tethered via ethernet?...

    we're going to need more details to help. Post a screenshot of your network settings so we can see if anything is wrong.
     
  4. MAcNIAC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    I have the same router and it works fine with my PC as well as 2 ibook G4's and my C2D MBP. However if i use bootcamp/windows and then restart OSX I have to select my wireless connection and sometimes power on/off the router. Just thought I'd let you know it can work.
     
  5. mmjosh1010 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Location:
    Devon, United Kingdom
    #5
    I have jsut tryed connecting using ethernet but again no luck... Yes my pc laptop connects wirelessly using it;s built in adaptor

    which network settings do you need a screenshot of?

    THANKS
     
  6. wildmac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    #6
    The network control panel showing the configuration.

    If ethernet is not working either, then it is your DHCP configuration.

    You do have your ISP looking for the ethernet address of the router, and not the PC laptop, right?...
     
  7. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    I have this router and had a similar problem when setting up my Macbook. Here's what to check for.

    1) Check that you have allowed your Mac address. Do this only if you've set your router to only allow certain computers.

    2) If you have a WEP key make sure it is done properly.

    This next step was vital to me and it solved my problem. I needed a WEP key and although I was typing it in correctly, it still wasn't working. And I found out the answer was that I needed to put a $ sign infront of the key before typing it. Don't ask my why I had to, but it worked. Try that. =]
     
  8. mmjosh1010 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Location:
    Devon, United Kingdom
    #8
    Just turned my mac on and it's found it and connected now!! how odd... thanks for your help anyway everyone..

    Josh
     
  9. mel-mac-newbie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #9
    dg834g wireless connection drops out

    Hi, I have this router/modem too. I can connect to the internet/network from my macbook but I frequently lose the connection. I am using WEP. Any ideas why this is happening?
     
  10. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #10
    This happens to me too, and usually when it does, another wireless connection called "Untitled' appears. I think this may be interfering with the connection and causing it to drop out.

    Try going into the router settings and changing the wireless channel. Maybe that can help.
     

Share This Page