Netgear problem

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jamescwarren, Dec 31, 2005.

  1. jamescwarren macrumors 6502

    jamescwarren

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    #1
    I have a Netgear Super Wireless ADSL Router DG834GT. I don't know if it actually a problem with the router but if I don't use the internet for a few minutes, my internet connection kind of times out. But when this happens and I open Safari (By the way I am using Safari v2.0.2), it doesn't state the I am not connected to the internet, it just won't load anything. It does this sometimes when I am streaming a QuickTime video for more than about a half hour. I know it isn't a problem with my router because this is my second one as I took the original one back. Is it a problem with Safari or something because it is really bugging me. Please reply.
     
  2. stevep macrumors 6502a

    stevep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Check your setup page (Setup > Basic Settings) to see if the idle timeout is set to zero. It probably already is as its the default setting but its worth checking anyway.
    I have the same model, and I get this from time to time - I think it's an ISP problem. I sometimes have to disconnect and reconnect 3 or 4 times in an hour. And then it goes on for days without a problem.
    I don't think its a Safari problem - try using Firefox for a few days though.
     
  3. Moog101 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    I have the same model too and i don't think it's ever timed out (so it's not a OSX / Safari problem.) I haven't changed any settings on it out of the box (except adding WEP) so it does sounds like it might be an ISP issue.

    Have you made sure you have the latest firmware for it? This is the sort of problem it often fixes. It's up to version 1.01.28 from here...

    http://kbserver.netgear.com/products/dg834gt.asp

    M
     
  4. jamescwarren thread starter macrumors 6502

    jamescwarren

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    #4
    thanks for your help everyone. i think i will ring my isp up on monday. I do have the latest version of firmware. once again thanks.
     
  5. super_kev macrumors 6502

    super_kev

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    USofA
    #5
    If I were you I'd check the direct connection to your computer and see if it's really your ISP; I highly doubt it is. Connect the DSL modem to your computer and connect via PPPoE. If you have no problems connecting to the internet, then it's your router. I just replaced one of our Netgear MR814v2's (the other one is fine) that's been giving us problems since day one (always disconnected from the internet, even with the firmware updates) and put in a new WGR614. No problems, and it even has little vent holes in it since many people were experencing router overheating.
     
  6. TMA macrumors 6502a

    TMA

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    England
    #6
    I use a Netgear DG834G, which I'm assuming is closely related (doesn't have the pre-n speeds).

    The only problems I get is when the connection to the ISP falls, which due the quality of my phone line can be fairly often. I usually have to wait 5-10 seconds and try again.

    I upgraded the firmware recently so that I could use it with my Nintendo DS - I recommend that anyone who attempts this uses an ethernet cable and firefox. I tried once using Safari and it completely broke the router (had to take it back)
     
  7. super_kev macrumors 6502

    super_kev

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    USofA
    #7
    Download the new firmware from Netgear's site, login to the router, then upload the new firmware to the router.
     

Share This Page