Netgear Router problem

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by josepho, Apr 17, 2005.

  1. josepho macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I've had my Netgear router for approaching a year now, and ever since I've got it I've had a slight problem, which I've never bothered to try and properly resolve (I'm such a procrastinator).

    Basically if I view certain websites, from either of the computers connected to my network the router will basically just stop working and I have to unplug it and then reboot it. It only happens on certain websites, with the BBC Weather site being one of them. I can't think of any reason whatsoever this would happen, and it really is quite annoying.

    It has the latest firmware version on it (which is from June 2004), so I can't think of anything else to do...

    It's the WGR614v2 in case anyone thinks it's important.

    Anything you could suggest would be greatly appreciated. I don't think I have the receipt any more, so I would find it difficult to make some sort of warranty claim. :(

    Thanks.
     
  2. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #2
    It sounds like you reboot your netgear router right? What happens when you just reboot your powerbook? Is it able to connect to other websites after you reboot? Can you get multiple computer on your router, and check to see if your powerbook freezes but the other computer's network connection continues to function properly? Are the netgear router lights flashing with activity after the freeze? How about your modem lights?
     
  3. josepho thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    #3
    When the router drops the connection my PB continues to show a wireless signal. However, if I turn AE on and off (or sleep the PB then wake it up, which obviously does that) it shows no signal. The router's lights are still on, so the only way you know that it's dropped the connection is when pages stop resolving and people's messages on iChat/MSN stop coming through. If it goes down, the connection to both of the computers (one PC, and my PB) is affected.

    I've been having a wee look online, and it would appear that some Netgear routers do suffer from hard reset problems.... I suppose perhaps there's not much I can except get a new router... :(
     
  4. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #4
    have you tried updating the firmware?
     
  5. josepho thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    #5
    As I said in my original post, it is using the most up-to-date firmware version, however, a new version hasn't been released since June of last year... around the time I got it.
     
  6. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #6
    oh my bad. i just talk to my friend who installed this brand professionally in small businesses. He really didn't have high regards for netgear or microsoft brand routers. sorry i couldn't help you. I will say I have had good luck with DLink and Linksys.
     
  7. josepho thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    #7

    Yeah, that seems to be the consensus... Oh well, I guess there's little to do other than get a new one. I'm moving to Italy in September and the rest of my family aren't quite so up on computers, etc. so I have to make sure that everything will be plain sailing whilst I'm away -- hence the reason I'm trying to get my parents to replace the ageing Compaq with a Mac Mini :)

    Anyway, thanks! :D
     
  8. swindmill macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
  9. josepho thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    #9
    I hadn't, but after having a look it appears some other users have had the same bizarre problem. The thing is, there doesn't really appear to be any solution :(
     
  10. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #10
    there is always kicking it :)
     
  11. josepho thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    #11
    Well, I went against the grain and followed the very few comments which suggested trying earlier versions of the firmware. I downgraded from v2.16 to v2.15 (June 2004 -> January 2004), and I've noted that I can't recreate the problem. I guess my router might've come with the latest firmware (or I updated it as soon as I got it), which appeared to have been causing the problem... Seems illogical, but I guess bugs can creep in along the way!

    Anyway, thanks!
     
  12. XNine macrumors 68040

    XNine

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Why are you wearing that stupid man suit?
    #12
    This is interesting. I just bopught the same router (because my Linksys was only pasisng one IP address through, and wouldn't let me connect to the net from the MODEM port, but through one of the numbered ports). After replacing it with this I've had ZERO problems and it actually works how a router should.

    I would shy away from any future purchase of Linksys (no Mac support at all) and SMC (had same problems as Linksys).
     
  13. stevep macrumors 6502a

    stevep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    I have a similar problem to the original poster, but it only happens in the evenings - it must therefore be either my ISP or the telephone line. Is there a way of telling who is at fault? (maybe a trace routing app??)
    My guess is that it could be the ISP, as I can reboot the router and everything starts working again.
     
  14. Apple Hobo macrumors 6502a

    Apple Hobo

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Location:
    A series of tubes
    #14
    This doesn't surprise me one bit. It seems to me that router firmware can be very quirky like in the way you describe your situation. If it ain't broke, don't fix it! :D

    I recently bought a new wireless router to replace my .11b Linksys. I tried a model from Asante because I've heard good things about it, and it was also touted as a Mac friendly product. It was working fine for a few days, but then some problems came up. I updated the firmware to the latest version. Problems solved, until a few hours later: dropped connections, hard freezes...not good. Well, I ended up trying different versions of firmware, but they all had major problems. I boxed that thing up and sent it back for a refund in less than a week. :mad: It's a shame because it was a nice router. :rolleyes:
     
  15. josepho thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    #15
    Steve, can we assume from your reference to phone lines that you're using ADSL (i.e. through your BT line) as opposed to cable? Who's your ISP?

    Do you definitely have a filter on your phone to keep it from interfering with the data traffic?

    Is it the same router? Which make, model, etc?

    :D
     
  16. stevep macrumors 6502a

    stevep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Josepho
    Yes, ADSL broadband, and I'm with Tiscali. I've got filters on both my phone outlets, and the model is Linksys WAG54G.

    Its the rebooting thing that caught my attantion in the original post - that is often the only way I can seem to re-establish a working connection. Maybe if the isp is busy they knock out some connections ??? I don't really know how it works. I know that isp's have contention ratios but I don't know what they do when they exceed them.
     
  17. josepho thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    #17
    I think all you would notice would be a slowing in the connection, rather than being cut off... It seems extremely strange your problem... only applying in the evening. To be honest, I don't think I can think of any reason... Sorry.

    Have you tried looking for help on other forums?
     

Share This Page