NetMD N910/710 vs iPod

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by benixau, Dec 28, 2003.

1. benixau macrumors 65816

benixau

I need help - can't decide.

I have OSX 10.3
    I am an audio engineer
    I will use the recording feature

NetMD:
    +Stereo Record*
    +Record battery life is greater than iPod playback*
    +Playback time is almost 24hrs on internal battery*
    +Smaller
    +Does not skip during tasks that casue the iPod to skip
    +Already have five 74min MDs
    +"Unlimited" capacity by swaping disks
    +Removable NiMH battery
    +Comes with AA adapter add-on
    +LCD remote (N910 is backlit)
    -Realtime song transfer
    -NetMD features not easily available
    -Not as cool as an iPod

iPod:
    +Capacity*
    +Integration with Mac*
    +AAC compatabilty*
    +Faster transfers (firewire vs real-time)*
    +No need to title tracks
    +Easier to use on the road
    +No copy protection on files (can send to the iPod in native format as many times as I want (I can't use the iTMS (re: location)))
    -Battery life (and no, I will not purchase a Belkin battery thing so that my iPod can be bulky and still have a shorter life)

The points that have the '*' next to them are important issues to me. I can not honestly decide. The MD solution is cheaper by about AU$100 but the stikler is realtime transfer.

Thanks in advance and could any "iPod cause Apple makes it" people not post. Thanks again.

2. synthetickittie macrumors regular