Network does not work, can ping sites but not browse web on any browser

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MarkGX, Aug 28, 2006.

  1. MarkGX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    #1
    I cannot browse any websites on the web on any server. My Cable line is working and I get an ip address from my network settings. I can ping any website and it returns 64 bytes... etc...

    Last thing I installed was the Cisco VPN Client and while I can access vpn of another network, I can't browse any sites. I have uninstalled the Cisco VPN Client and erased all files associated with the VPN Client and I still can't get my internet to work correctly.

    BTW, this is a MAC MINI with OS X 10.4.7

    Any Ideas?
     
  2. cbetta macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
  3. MarkGX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    #3
    I Ping host name. I can also ping the ip as well.
     
  4. cbetta macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    #4
    that is weird. the most common problem for people that can ping but not browse is that they are missing a DNS (pinging an IP and browsing the hostname). I'm sorry to say that this does not ring any bells.
     
  5. MarkGX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
  6. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    Are you sure you have delete ALL files belonging to the CiscO VPN client...
    There are file which are loade during startup (IIRC you can even see "Cisco VON client staring" during boot).

    Try opening the terminal and type:

    "sudo find / -name cisco*" and press <ENTER>, followed by password.
    Maybe other CiscoVPN related files will appear.
     
  7. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #7
    how is your network configured, go to system preferences, and network...
    how many .. i guess network devices are there? (e.g. airport, ethernet, etc, etc)
    which one do you use to access internet? make sure if you have two devices that connect to two different networks, the one you want to connect to internet is has more priority

    (i know i sound like i dont know what i'm talkign about, because i'm on a PC now, i can't recall what the specific steps are) i connect to internet wirelessly from network#1, and connect via ethernet to my home network, network#2 which is not connected to the internet... and i can't connect to any website, while connected to both network ... i just had to set the priorities right, so the system knows which one it uses to connect to internet(and unfortunately, it doesn't called Priority in the system preferences, but it is in Network)
     
  8. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #8
    Check with your ISP to make sure there are no connection problems/restrictions.
     
  9. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #9
    Reboot?

    Did you reboot after removing the Cisco VPN components? I believe it installs a kernel module.
     

Share This Page