Network Hard Drive Problems

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by hollerz, Mar 2, 2007.

  1. hollerz macrumors 6502a

    hollerz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #1
    Hi, I just bought a network hard drive (http://www.usbex.com/landrive/ to be exact, but not that the site gives much info :rolleyes: )

    but anyway, I connected it to my router, logged into my router and looked at the attached devices list. There was an attached device named STORAGE, I copied the IP, pasted it into Safari, it asked me for my username and password, which logged me in fine.

    The manual says to mount the hard drive I need to go to "Connect to Server" and type smb://STORAGE. When I do this I get this error:

    "The Finder cannot complete the operation because some data in "smb://STORAGE" could not be read or written. (Error code -36)"

    I tried going to http://192.168.0.3 (the IP of the hard drive), which asked me to enter my username and password, which I do, and then get the error message:

    "You cannot connect to this server because it cannot be foudn on the network. Try again later or try a different URL"



    I don't really know much about networks, so I'm lost here, does anyone know how to get this working?
     
  2. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #2
    Try to mount it (Connect to Server, in Finder) by IP address, in your case smb://192.168.0.3 may work.
     
  3. colinet macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    I'm getting exactly the same - 36 error message - any solutions? (both on my MacBook and G5 desktop)

    If I connect the drive via USB it verifies as perfect.

    If I'm only going to use my network drive with Macs and no PCs do I still have to format the drive as FAT32? How do I find out the IP of the drive in my network box?

    Just formatted the drive in Windows XP on Parallels - no better.
     
  4. hollerz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hollerz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #4
    I haven't found a solution yet. Tried the smb://192.168.0.3 but got the same error message. I'm redecorating at the minute though so its all disconnected, will give it another go once I'm finished that.

    To find the IP i just logged into my router and went into "Attached Devices" and it was listed in there.

    Let me know if you find a solution, I'm gonna have another go once I get it all set up again.
     
  5. colinet macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    I went into Windows XP in Parallels and in Explorer entered http://storage which brought up the network drive - then I formatted the drive from within that, - (maybe the problems is with the way OXS formats MSDOS ??) The formatting created a default folder PUBLIC. I then created a directory COLIN and set a password for it.

    Then back in the OSX finder I followed Go/Connent to Server and entered smb://storage/public and up came the directory. I then did Go/Connent to Server and entered smb://storage/colin and up came that directory which asked for my password.

    So now it appears to be working OK - REALLY slow though compared to my FW800 back up drive.
     
  6. hollerz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hollerz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #6
    Interesting, I'll have to get Windows installed and try that out. Thanks a lot!

    Hope its fast enough though, I didn't want any wires coming out of my MBP other than the power cable, but if it's too slow I'll just have to get used to having a USB2 cable aswell!
     
  7. colinet macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    I think at best it's about one tenth of the speed of decent firewire - and that's with an ethernet cable straight from the back of my dual G5 direct to the drive. I think wireless might be even slower. I suppose once you've done the big initial back any incremental stuff shouldn't take so long except I do work with some pretty big Photoshop images
     

Share This Page