Network Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Butler Trumpet, Mar 11, 2006.

  1. Butler Trumpet macrumors 6502

    Butler Trumpet

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Dekalb IL
    #1
    I've got a external HDD that I would like to set up on my network so that all the computers here can get to it. It is made by Iomega and it can be hooked up either USB or firewire. The usb cable is one that is often on printers... looks like this
    http://www.ebusinesscables.com/images/usb_a_to_b.jpg

    If i plug it into my wireless router, is this possible?
    and how do I get to it?
    Thanks
     
  2. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #2
    If this is an Apple AirPort Base Station/AirPort Express with a USB port on it, then no. That USB port is only made to work with printers.

    Basically what you'll want to do is plug it into a Mac, and then turn on file sharing. Then any Mac or PC on the network will have access to it as long as the Mac its connected to is turned on and joined to the network.
     
  3. Butler Trumpet thread starter macrumors 6502

    Butler Trumpet

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Dekalb IL
  4. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #4
    Whats the model # of the Linksys? It should be either on the bottom of the wireless router. WRT... something like that.
     
  5. Butler Trumpet thread starter macrumors 6502

    Butler Trumpet

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Dekalb IL
  6. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #6
    Well unless there's something out there that will go from USB to ethernet and know how to transfer data to network packets, then you'll have to settle for my solution above.

    If you do use my solution, use FireWire instead of USB and you'll have better success.
     
  7. Butler Trumpet thread starter macrumors 6502

    Butler Trumpet

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Dekalb IL
    #7
    yeah that will work I guess...
    and yeah, no way would i ever use usb... iBook with usb 1.0 or whatever sucks compared to firewire

    thanks!
     

Share This Page