Network IP Slow, FTP Slow, Broswer Slow!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by barbourdg, Jan 7, 2005.

  1. barbourdg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Location:
    dallas
    #1
    Please HELP? Network/Internet connection is SLOWWWWWW!

    I am on the latest OSX panther software (powerbook g4) and in the last 2 weeks, my system went from fine to Crap. I am on a T1 connection at work (PC) and SW Bell DSL at home.

    I first noticed my problem at home. I was no longer able to send email from my mac account. It could never find the mac.smpte address. At work, my mail would go through fine on the T1 network. Now the system is so slow a 3 mg file is taking an hour to upload on Transmit FTP from my T1 connection.

    Any suggestions? I have not changed anything on my system. I did notice when we all got the automatic system update last week (?) that I could send mail from my home DSL once again. Then yesterday, it went out again.

    I am buying a new powerbook after the mac expo show (in case sometime new appears), but I need a quick fix until then. I know reformating my computer would do it, but thats a lot of work, and I would rather do it when I sell my current powerbook.

    Thanks
    Robin
     
  2. barbourdg thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Location:
    dallas
    #2
    Also, when my mac mail account stopped working from my home dsl, I could receive emails just fine. I just could not email anything out. I had to sign on to mac.com to send emails at night.

    Thanks
    Robin
     
  3. varmit macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
  4. maxterpiece macrumors 6502a

    maxterpiece

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    #4
    First I would reset your dsl modem. you do this by unplugging it (along with any router you have it going through) for 30 seconds. Plug it back in, then when the 'DSL' or 'online' light goes back on you plug the router back in. If that doesn't work then call your Bell South. DSL will slow down to a crawl if, lets say, a neighbor installs a new line and mr. phone man messes up yours.

    I know that you said your problem was both at work and at home, but if you are sharing your T1 at work with a lot of other people, it can slow to a crawl. At my office we have a T1 which is shared between about 80 people, early in the morning and after 5pm it is blazing, the rest of the time it varies. It all depends on how much is going on on the rest of your network. If Kenny, down the hall, is downloading all the porn he can find it is gonna hog a lot of the bandwidth.

    Finally, as you have a new powerbook, it probably has airport built in. I would make sure the connection is slow via the ethernet port and via airport. After all of this, I would try reinstalling the system. If all that doesn't get you any answers then you will probably have to go to apple.
     
  5. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #5
    Don't use a filter with your DSL connection. That will make it run very slow.
     
  6. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #6
    I had that problem too but it went away. I believe you can't use the SMTP of your Mac account because of firewall issues with Bellsouth. Use Bellsouth's SMTP server instead.
     
  7. barbourdg thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Location:
    dallas
    #7
    thanks for the info. I will try a few things at the home DSL.

    But at my day job, its not due to other activity. There are only about 10 of us on the network and I have never (in 3 years) had problems sending large files through my ftp program (transmit).

    When the upload starts, it stalls for 5 seconds, then uploads for a while, then stalls again, then uploads, etc.......

    Once again, from home the problem was fixed when apple sent out the software update last week (or so). So I know the problem lies in the system software. Perhaps dumping some preferences, and rebooting would do it.
     
  8. barbourdg thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Location:
    dallas
    #8
    Forget about the day job T1 connection. The provider had problems at their location that have been fixed. Now my connection is fine.

    Just have to figure out the home DSL now. :p
     
  9. baadtaste macrumors member

    baadtaste

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Location:
    Norway
    #9
    sry here are more and different questions -
    I have Airport at home - and sitting about 10' from the base station - still the signal varies from full to only one dot in the menu line... thats weird? Also when downloading patches from WoW the download app claims I'm behind a firewall - which is not true. What I have is an open network due my daughter who uses a pc and we have not been able to connect it to a closed network. Could it be someone else using the network? If so - is there any software I can use to detect and "eject" unwanted users?
     
  10. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #10
    man this grave yard is deep! :)

    its possible since 40 percent of ppl admit stealing wireless connections...

    you should be able to goto router config page which should tell u who is connected. at least most routers i know do offer this.

    best way, imho, is still to secure the network.

    im not sure if its a airport problem, or your systems' problem. but if u need a new router, i personally used netgear, buffalo, sysco routers, and they all work fine in mixed windows/OSX environment.
     

Share This Page