Network Printing

Discussion in 'OS X' started by IgnatiusTheKing, Mar 24, 2008.

  1. macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #1
    I did a search but couldn't find anything exactly like what I was looking for, so here goes:

    I just got a new Mac Pro at work and am trying to set it up to work with our (PC) network printers. When I first opened up the Print Preferences, one of the printers (HP Color Laserjet 3600) appeared in the "default" list and works just fine. The others did not appear, so I found them in the "Windows" list and added them with the proper drivers. They are a Sharp AR-M620N and a HP Laserjet 5.

    Though I was able to add both without problem, when I try to print they both appear with "On Hold (Authentication required)" status, even though I've correctly entered my username and password. When I click "Resume" I get the window asking for the username and password again, but it never works. Any ideas?
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #2
    Same troubles

    I am experiencing the same problems. It started yesterday evening. I'm running 10.5.2. Not sure if it is related or not, but my machine did a software update earlier in the day. IIRC, it was some patches, not sure for what though.

    [Update]After looking through my CUPS logs, I noticed this:

    I [25/Mar/2008:10:58:18 -0700] [Job 105] Adding start banner page "none".
    I [25/Mar/2008:10:58:18 -0700] [Job 105] Adding job file of type application/postscript.
    I [25/Mar/2008:10:58:18 -0700] [Job 105] Adding end banner page "none".
    I [25/Mar/2008:10:58:18 -0700] [Job 105] Queued on "C5180FAX" by "squirrel".
    I [25/Mar/2008:10:58:18 -0700] [Job 105] Started filter /usr/libexec/cups/filter/pstops (PID 224)
    I [25/Mar/2008:10:58:18 -0700] [Job 105] Started backend /usr/libexec/cups/backend/smb (PID 225)
    E [25/Mar/2008:10:58:19 -0700] [Job 105] Session setup failed: NT_STATUS_NO_SUCH_FILE
    E [25/Mar/2008:10:58:19 -0700] [Job 105] Session setup failed: NT_STATUS_LOGON_FAILURE
    E [25/Mar/2008:10:58:19 -0700] [Job 105] Tree connect failed (NT_STATUS_ACCESS_DENIED)

    Chris
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Silver-Fox

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #3
    This happens to me at college, i have to type the local area network then "COLCHESTER\" then my username and password
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #4
    I tried doing that (DOMAIN\username), but it seems to be ignoring the DOMAIN part. At the least, it is not storing the DOMAIN part in keychain. Any suggestions?

    Chris
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Silver-Fox

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #5
    do you have all the correct drivers installed etc?
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #6
    I assume so. It was working just fine yesterday morning. :)

    Chris
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Silver-Fox

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Oh

    Have they changed the domain address any of the printing details?
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #8
    Good question. No idea on the answer. :) Anyone else know?

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #9
    I finally talked to the IT guys here and they seem to think it's because those two printers are hooked up through the domain that everyone else (on PCs) logs into when they log into their computer (I think it's called Active Directory). Since I don't log into my Mac through the domain, their is some permissions error. They are working to resolve it. I'll post what they come up with when I hear back from them.

    (And yes, the drivers I have are correct and are supposed to work with 10.5.x)
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #10
    Old topic but wanted to update: 10.5.3 fixed my problem. Haven't been able to check with our big copier yet (it's down for maintenance), but our networked HP Laserjet is now working with my Mac Pro. Since I was getting the same error message on both printers before, I'm assuming the copier will work once it is back online.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #11
    Another update to this: the printing is on-again, off-again on our big copier. Lately I've been getting the (authentication required) message, but when I tell the printer to resume, it prompts me for my username and password, which is saved to the Keychain, then it prints just fine.

    It's annoying to have to go through that step every time, but at least it works now...
     

Share This Page